We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for meeting other travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Backpackers Paihia hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for meeting other travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The staff are good fun.

location is near the town

Travel companies use this hostel so it is very busy.

rooms normally sleep 8 mixed (one girls room) they all have there own shower and toilet.

Pool is very small, but if you want to swim the sea is a 2 minute walk.

Outdoor Hot is very nice

BBQ at extra cost but is good.

Bar is very lively

Great for single travelers to meet people - not for people wanting a quiet stay.

There are lots of other hotels cheaper on the same road.

Enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: try and get the rooms towards the back. Instead of 8 in one room these have 2 rooms of 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    57
    33
    18
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
24
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Good location, 1 minute to the sea, 5 minutes to town center. With cafe and bars around

Staff is nice, if you check in at late night, you need to find staff in the bar.

Share space is limited, always have people lying on the sofa. The kitchen is not too big, sometimes dirty.

The bar have some activities every night, quite noisy until mid night. And it's near to another bar as well. You can expect the situation.

The bed is so noisy with just a little movement, the first night with 8 people in the room, be prepared to be waked up by the bed....

Anyway, i won't reckon base backpackers to someone who need a quite place to relax and sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherry626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Lara in reception was such an angel. Soo friendly! Nice and cheap! Great bar! If your looking for a quiet night in this place is not for you! These guys know how to throw a party. Exactly what we were looking for! I would defiantly recommend this Base Paihia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katielarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I personally did not stay in this hostel during the weekend I spent in Paihia. But we ended up to the Hostel bar on a saturday night for one of the most random and amazing party ever! Even though in winter Paihia is not that noisy or overcrowded we managed to have a great time meeting a lot of people and sharing experiences!
Well done guys at the Base! Beer was good ;)

Room Tip: Maybe if you want to relax at night this is not the best option, but for party-people, don't hes...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Party every night!! Great staying at the base and everything is within walking distance (Yep Paihia is small!) Helpful staff, kitchen in the dorm but there's no utensil so you probably need to use your own.

A funny bar man to host the night, open air hot tub which is treasure during winter, "fully utilised" kitchen if you know what I mean, and free spices at the back of the kitchen :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Really good hostel!! Really good bar as well with a funny bar man! Did a good BBQ every night a very good place to meet people! And a very very hot hot tub! The only thing is the rooms are quite open and no one seems to lock them so I would give valuables to the safe in reception

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiecharlotte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stated here for 3 nights while traveling on a Stray bus pass. Was very comfortable and enjoyable. Staff were always cheery, got a cheap ($10) BBQ and free drink on our first night, it's very close to the towns facilities, and the rooms were clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 29 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.0 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#20 of 29 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#18 of 29 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Paihia hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Paihia hostel

Property: Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Address: 18 Kings Road | Pipi Patch, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Sunseekers Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Paihia hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Base Backpackers Paihia hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Paihia Hostel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing