We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
Ranked #16 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Only stayed a couple of nights.
Was in an 8 bed dorm. No security in rooms!! And it's all lock and key, valuable items very vulnerable.
Bbq was amazing!! Great value for money!
Very clean, however cleaning staff have little consideration for resting guests.
Not 24hr reception.
Bar was great fun, good kitchen, great tv lounge, great location!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at base so we knew what to expect, we booked because we wanted a fun new year.
It was a very lively new year, rooms nice and clean, staff very friendly, everything great if you don't mind a bit of noisy fun.
Great for the price and you couldn't get a better spot.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BridgetG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean, staff were friendly, met some great people, the bar was nice, good night out! kitchen was clean and ok to use. We stayed in 8 bed dorm. The BBQ food was very nice! Good value for money. All in all a good hostel :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The staff are good fun.

location is near the town

Travel companies use this hostel so it is very busy.

rooms normally sleep 8 mixed (one girls room) they all have there own shower and toilet.

Pool is very small, but if you want to swim the sea is a 2 minute walk.

Outdoor Hot is very nice

BBQ at extra cost but is good.

Bar is very lively

Great for single travelers to meet people - not for people wanting a quiet stay.

There are lots of other hotels cheaper on the same road.

Enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: try and get the rooms towards the back. Instead of 8 in one room these have 2 rooms of 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Good location, 1 minute to the sea, 5 minutes to town center. With cafe and bars around

Staff is nice, if you check in at late night, you need to find staff in the bar.

Share space is limited, always have people lying on the sofa. The kitchen is not too big, sometimes dirty.

The bar have some activities every night, quite noisy until mid night. And it's near to another bar as well. You can expect the situation.

The bed is so noisy with just a little movement, the first night with 8 people in the room, be prepared to be waked up by the bed....

Anyway, i won't reckon base backpackers to someone who need a quite place to relax and sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Lara in reception was such an angel. Soo friendly! Nice and cheap! Great bar! If your looking for a quiet night in this place is not for you! These guys know how to throw a party. Exactly what we were looking for! I would defiantly recommend this Base Paihia.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank katielarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I personally did not stay in this hostel during the weekend I spent in Paihia. But we ended up to the Hostel bar on a saturday night for one of the most random and amazing party ever! Even though in winter Paihia is not that noisy or overcrowded we managed to have a great time meeting a lot of people and sharing experiences!
Well done guys at the Base! Beer was good ;)

Room Tip: Maybe if you want to relax at night this is not the best option, but for party-people, don't hes...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 31 in Paihia
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.0 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#26 of 31 in Paihia
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Paihia hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Paihia hostel

Address: 18 Kings Road | Pipi Patch, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Sunseekers Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: £13 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Paihia hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Paihia hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Paihia Hostel Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing