We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Saltwater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saltwater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which comprised 1 set bunks and 2 singles – it all looked new and clean. The room was spacious and had a lovely big ensuite bathroom with good shower. There was a small tv in the room – not easy to see from the bunk beds but nice for when I got in shattered and wanted some easy time. Good big lockable cupboards (with plenty of space for your whole backpack) in the rooms for each bed.
Lounge and kitchen area fairly big esp with the covered terraces running outside – plenty of overspill room.
Laundry – could poss do with more washing machines and dryers as it was v busy. There were plenty of washing lines for when it wasn't raining.
Lovely friendly staff. Couldn’t really fault it, possibly the addition of free wifi, which doesn't seem to happen in NZ.

Room Tip: The 4 bed dorm was worth the money, it's not often you get such space in a hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    26
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
18
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marne-la-Vallee, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Really friendly, super close to the beach, big kitchen, all was clean including bathrooms, nice beds, free tea, fun evening times with the people who work there (free avocados and people baking cakes!). Also really cheap, and they give free bike hires. If you hire a bike, go over to russel and bike around the peninsula on a nice day. Walking on the beach is also nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

spent 2 weeks here in the end and loved it!

stayed in a 6 bed dorm with ensuite, room was a great size and there are large lockers in the room and each bed has its own reading light, room was also very clean.
The common area has a nice amount of space and the kitchen is well equipped and clean.
staff - couldnt praise them enough - always very friendly and helpful!
the location is good, its on the same street as all the other backpackers and steps away from the beach and close to the centre of paihia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We are in our sixties and got this backpackers out of Lonely Planet Guide to NZ. Fabulous place to stay. We had a huge room with king size bed and very spacious ensuite as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Spotlessly clean. Very quiet and very central. Extremely friendly reception staff and a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place is described as 'budget accommodation', which I can't really understand as there was nothing budget about it. The room was really clean, with fresh towels every day and an ensuite bathroom. The rooms were all on one large, shared balcony, but it was always quiet and really nice to sit out at night. The lodge is a 30 second walk from the beach, with 3 or 4 bars all surrounding the actual lodge itself. I went out of season, so Paihia itself was quiet, but the lodge was brilliant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was there during week days in winter time, I did not hear any noise from the bars around (probably they were closed), so I slept very well.
The people at the reception were really friendly and helpful, they kept on asking if everything was ok.
This is probably the best backpacker I slept during my short holiday in NZ. I had a single room ensuite, it was huge (infact 4 people could sleep there), for 60 NZD. In Auckland for a very small room, pretty but older, without bathroom I had to pay 64.. The bathroom was big and clean, with a ceiling window which was a plus. The electric heater was working properly. A very positive aspect: the fitted carpet did not have a bad smell, as it happens in 99% of cases..
The kitchen was very clean, with 3 separated sinks, and 3 separated cooking areas, and very clean towels and utensils.
Nice common area, with confortable sofas and armchairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onelastwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is a nice hostel, it's clean and has a large common room with TV/video/lots of computers etc.

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with big ensuite bathroom and every bed has it's own reading light which is a big plus. Mine was broken though and I forgot to tell them about it so they might not know about it.
There are also very large cabinets in the room, one for every bed that you lock with your own lock. Another plus for that.

They also provide bicycles for free to use around town and the woman at reception gave me some good advice on where to go.

Minor points: there was no curtain in front of the window of our room so it got light early in the morning. They really need to fix this. It is right next to a bar, so it can be loud.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.1 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Property: Saltwater Lodge
Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing