We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel I Stayed at in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltwater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saltwater Lodge
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Hostel I Stayed at in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I spent almost 2 months travelling around virtually all of New Zealand, and liked this hostel the best. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the facilities are first rate. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms have spacious en-suites with large sinks. The whole facility is maintained with care. The kitchen is by far the best equipped that I've seen in any hostel, with quality appliances that actually work, and there is an ample supply of every item you would need. While I was there, the owner brought in a laundry basket of free avocados from their farm for everyone to enjoy. I also liked the spacious exterior decks with tables useful for eating, visiting, etc. The only disappointment was that my Canadian Visa credit card wouldn't work in their CADMUS EFTPOS, so I had to pay with cash. Most of the hostels in Paihia are on the same street, so they are all convenient to the beach and the town shops. This one is set back from the street, so one has to be on the lookout for it, or you'll miss seeing it. Don't pass it by!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannymfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
18
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We rented an en-suite room which we found very comfortable. You could just see the sea from the corner of the communal balcony! It was nice and warm in the evenings so we were able to sit on the bacony to relax, and to eat our dinner. The communal kitchen was on the floor below. The hostel was full so the kitchen was pretty busy. Someone had hogged all the oven space one night so we had to improvise a different way of cooking.
It is well located, just five minutes walk from the beach, and under 15mins to the large supermarket and also the jetty.
The staff were very helpful and booked us a trip on the Thomas Tucker sailing ship.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which comprised 1 set bunks and 2 singles – it all looked new and clean. The room was spacious and had a lovely big ensuite bathroom with good shower. There was a small tv in the room – not easy to see from the bunk beds but nice for when I got in shattered and wanted some easy time. Good big lockable cupboards (with plenty of space for your whole backpack) in the rooms for each bed.
Lounge and kitchen area fairly big esp with the covered terraces running outside – plenty of overspill room.
Laundry – could poss do with more washing machines and dryers as it was v busy. There were plenty of washing lines for when it wasn't raining.
Lovely friendly staff. Couldn’t really fault it, possibly the addition of free wifi, which doesn't seem to happen in NZ.

Room Tip: The 4 bed dorm was worth the money, it's not often you get such space in a hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marne-la-Vallee, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Really friendly, super close to the beach, big kitchen, all was clean including bathrooms, nice beds, free tea, fun evening times with the people who work there (free avocados and people baking cakes!). Also really cheap, and they give free bike hires. If you hire a bike, go over to russel and bike around the peninsula on a nice day. Walking on the beach is also nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

spent 2 weeks here in the end and loved it!

stayed in a 6 bed dorm with ensuite, room was a great size and there are large lockers in the room and each bed has its own reading light, room was also very clean.
The common area has a nice amount of space and the kitchen is well equipped and clean.
staff - couldnt praise them enough - always very friendly and helpful!
the location is good, its on the same street as all the other backpackers and steps away from the beach and close to the centre of paihia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We are in our sixties and got this backpackers out of Lonely Planet Guide to NZ. Fabulous place to stay. We had a huge room with king size bed and very spacious ensuite as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Spotlessly clean. Very quiet and very central. Extremely friendly reception staff and a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place is described as 'budget accommodation', which I can't really understand as there was nothing budget about it. The room was really clean, with fresh towels every day and an ensuite bathroom. The rooms were all on one large, shared balcony, but it was always quiet and really nice to sit out at night. The lodge is a 30 second walk from the beach, with 3 or 4 bars all surrounding the actual lodge itself. I went out of season, so Paihia itself was quiet, but the lodge was brilliant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#2 of 29 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.1 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#19 of 29 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Property: Saltwater Lodge
Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing