We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but a bit lifeless ”
Review of Saltwater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saltwater Lodge
Ranked #10 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights. Good location in Paihia and rooms were well furnished, cleaned daily and a good size.

We didn't find the hostel to have much life to it though. Reception area is tucked away and the common area wasn't very inviting. The saltwater bar had very few people, if any at all in each night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gavmountford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

It is a nice place, clean and modern, very close to the beach and the city centre. Staff is good. Some rooms have sea view. Unfortunately there are two "buts":
1. Wi-Fi. It was supposed to be 100 Mb, but we opened just a couple of pages about the tourist attractions we wanted to visit and in a minute we were cut off since the limit was over. This is just ridiculous. We obviously didn't spent all 100 Mb.
2. Neighbors. God, it was so noisy! People on the deck were yelling, jumping, running and drinking all night and nobody from the staff was there so ask them to stop despite the fact that the official "off" time starts at 11pm. Thanks God, we were pretty tired and I managed to fall asleep after a while. Otherwise it would be just terrible..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxanaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Came to Paihia originally only planning to stay in this hostel one night, but ended up sticking around for the rest of my stay. The place is always super clean (even the kitchen which is rare in hostels), the beach is just a hop, skip, and a jump away, they offer free WiFi (well, 50 mb per day, but it's a nice gesture I haven't seen anywhere else in NZ), and they even rent out bikes for free which is super helpful considering there are a lot of places out and around the area that make for nice riding. Best part was the staff and people staying there the same I was. Everyone was so friendly and easy to talk to. Even made some nice friends there. :) Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvarado31189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at Saltwater Lodge for 3 weeks, and absolutely loved it! I had the best time ever, everyone was so nice! The rooms were bright and clean (cleaned daily), the staff made everyone feel welcome. I'd definitely recommend it. It's so cool that you only have to walk 1-2 minutes to the beach. Also, you can get bikes, tennis, internet, videos, swap your books, table soccer, table tennis, card games... And it's close to the current It-Bar ("Pipi Patch") and at Tito's I could still get a hot meal and even a soy hot chocolate (great for my lactose intolerance) at 11.30 at night! Close to all you need.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuddleKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Friendly stuff, unusually clean rooms with bathrooms, all you can ask for. Great location. Good live music & restaurant just next door, 1 minute walk to beach... Really satisfied with everything and spend 2 wonderful days in Paihia. Thanks for that and I'll come back...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csaba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The staff is so nice ! The lounge is wide and you can everything you need in the kitchen. In the dorms you have your own bathroom. The lodge is very close to the beach and you have bikes for free ! The bars and shops are close too. A beautiful place for relaxing and meet people.

Room Tip: Chose a dorm with only four beds, it will be more quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I've stayed there with friends once and loved it. Friendly and helpful staffs. Really clean room. Great location. Good live music & restaurant just down the street. Easy to access just anywhere. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
0.8 mi away
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
#12 of 31 in Paihia
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centabay Lodge
Centabay Lodge
#23 of 31 in Paihia
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.1 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 31 in Paihia
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: £28 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing