We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We've chosen the romantica suite for our honeymoon stay in Paihia last November.
Apart from the rooms and facilities provided, which all are perfectly looked after and really nice, it's the perfect breakie with fresh fruit and delicious selfbaked bread which is outstanding.
And of course the hosts are the ones who make that place something special, they were so helpful and friendly!
This place is a gem among the boutique hotels and can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_rager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
How nice that we have had you staying for this very special time in your lives! Really happy we could make your stay memorable. Hope to see you again in Paihia and at Chalet Romantica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
449
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We could not fault this accommodation, Excellent hosts that want to make your stay enjoyable. To the glass of champagne to welcome us to inviting us to breakfast even though we hadn't chosen this option. Location is stunning, even on slightly damp days! It is a couple of streets back from the main street, so is quiet. The walk backj is slightly uphill, but this means you can enjoy a little bit extra at the restaurants!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
So happy that we did make your stay as enjoyable. We'd love to see you soon again at our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snells Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

An absolutely lovely place to stay, with lovely hosts, food and views. When we visit the area again, and we will, we certainly won't even consider anywhere else. Set a few minutes walk away from the shore and slightly uphill this provides the best views and is away from the main road through town. If you are reading this review deciding where to stay....look no further....book Chalet Romantica.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a few extra stairs (and not that many really), go to the top room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
How nice to receive such a wonderful review from you and thank you so much for staying with us. You are always welcome at Chalet Romantica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergkamen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have been here for seven days. Stunning views from our balcony, super accomodation. Breakfast couldn't be better. Great hosts - thank you Inge and Ed! Next time in Paihia, this will be our place again!
Reinhard & Annette, Germany

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
It was a pleasure having you staying! Enjoy your onward travels through our wonderful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I am not sure where to start, but I guess I will do this chronologically.
First, they have a nice private driveway, and plenty of parking for the guests. Their location is perfect because it is just set back from the downtown, but only a 10 minute walk to all the main tourist attractions.
Inge, the hostess, greeted us and insisted on helping with our bags despite being so petite! Inge looked after us and made our stay special. She was so helpful letting us know all the right places to go in town and booking our tours for us (one even at a discount!). Having previously run a restaurant, you can rest assured that you are in great hands when it comes to breakfast. While at a small extra charge, it is completely worth it.The charge may just cover the cost (if even) for the actual breakfast. I had the pancakes both mornings---they were so delicious and sweet, yet savory with great bacon on top! My husband enjoyed their poached and scrambled eggs. We both indulged in the fresh fruit, muesli, cheeses and breads while she cooked our breakfast.
Now on to the room! CLEAN is the first word that comes to mind. COMFORTABLE is the second and FANTASTIC VIEWS are the third & fourth. The pictures on their site do not do it justice. We stayed in the Bellevue Suite and would love to stay there again! The internet worked great and the one day it rained they had DVDs downstairs we could watch in our room.
In addition to a small indoor pool and gym they also have a hot tub that we used, and it was so relaxing after a busy day out on the water.
Everything was just perfect and I hope to return someday - maybe for an anniversary!

Room Tip: Bellevue Suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Really happy we could make your honeymoon special! You are a lovely couple and we wish you all the best for your future! Looking forward to your anniversary at Chalet Romantica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This, by far, was our most favorite place to stay on our trip to New Zealand. Our host, Inge and Ed were so helpful and kind. We had a beautiful room and wonderful breakfasts in our 2 nights there.
Inge helped us with plans for the days that we were there and many things to see.
We would stay longer on returning to New Zealand. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for posting your wonderful review. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This was out first B&B experience on our trip to New Zealand recently. The room was great and the breakfast was enough to keep us going for the day as we travelled around the Bay of Islands. Inge and Ed love their B&B and having guests visit. It is worth the stay when you travel upto the Bay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJACKSONN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
How nice that your first B&B experience was with us! Thank you for your suberb rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Property: Chalet Romantica
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing