We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever stayed in”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were astounded by all the little touches that made our stay so wonderful. Inge, our hostess, welcomed us with a big bright smile and showed us to the Bellavista room, which had a cozy balcony just waiting for us to enjoy a glass of wine. The view from the room was stunning, overlooking the Bay of Islands from the top of a hill.

The room was so beautifully appointed, with fresh flowers, cozy robes and slippers, and a bar fridge already equipped with chilled beer and white wine, with red wine on a tray, ready to enjoy. We sure appreciated all the little touches.

The breakfast was the best one we have ever had, with a lush table set beautifully and situated inside a glass-walled room overlooking the garden and bay view. The meal was spectacular, with fresh-baked croissants (better than the ones I had in Paris, if you can imagine), fresh fruit salads, yogurt in wine glasses, fresh-squeezed orange juice, great coffee and cereals, as well as a made-to-order hot breakfast of bacon and eggs. Inge made sure to have gluten-free choices as well, and of course the conversations with her and the other guests made the stay even more pleasant.

Two energetic thumbs up for Chalet Romantica!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony -- we really appreciated being able to relax there after a long day of...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeSpideyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed our place our hospitality and company. Looking forward to your next visit to New Zealand and the Bay of Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Romantica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a great weekend staying at Chalet Romantica in Paihia. Inge, our host, served a fantastic breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, cheese and bread and a cooked breakfast. We barely needed lunch! She also gave us good ideas for how to spend the weekend and make the most of the bay. We will definitely look for a room at Chalet Romantica next time we are in The Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: There is a spa pool, small swimming pool and exercise bikes but we didn't use them
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We are happy that we could make your weekend away as enjoyable. See you again soon in beautiful Paihia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is one of the beautiful places we have ever had the privilege of staying. The room (top floor) was nearly perfect, the view was fabulous, and Inge's breakfasts were more than delicious. I truly did not want to leave. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the short walk from Paihia's beachfront was just what was needed to walk off the dinner from town. Inge even went the extra mile to confirm and make dinner reservations for us in Russell. We thought Chalet Romatica to be a little bit of Heaven. To use a cliché, if you are lucky enough to stay here you are lucky enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

What a pleasure to hear that you had such a good time at our place. We very much enjoyed meeting you and hope that you'll return to our lovely country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In September my husband and I stayed at B & B Chalet Romantica. We got a quiet room in the back, but even there the view was great: we looked onto a field with beautiful white lillies. The room was not that big, but Inge let us use extra closet space in the hallway behind our room as we had a lot of luggage. Another advantage was the fact that we could park the car right in front of our room and didn't have to walk up or down the stairs with our luggage. Breakfast was out of this world, too much to mention! The hosts were most accomodating and very friendly: Thank you Inge and Ed for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Femmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed our garden room and its outlook. We very much enjoyed our conversations with you and hope that some day your travels will bring you back to our part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

If you after a great place for couples in the Bay of Islands then this is the place to stay! The view is incredible, the location in the town is great but it's the service from Inge that makes the stay.

Breakfast was a feast every morning. Nothing is too much trouble for Inge. Everything comes with a smile and there are several little surprises which just make your day. Inge even arranged a discount on our cruise of the islands that was much appreciated. The spa and swimming pool are a great addition too.

Coming into summer the location is important- you'll want to be able to walk into town as there are limited parking spots and only one road in and out. In early November spots were limited and the road starting to be very busy. The chalet is also away from the many backpacker spots so you're in no danger of having sleep interrupted.

We thoroughly recommend spending a little extra if you can afford it. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Many thanks for your great comments. It is always a pleasure providing our guests the best time and stay at our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for five nights. The hostess is very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is top notch and service exceptional.
Much appreciated the attention to detail and the chocolate on my pillow each night.
Views over bay of islands are wonderful. Access to local facilities is but a short walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure meeting you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

An oasis in a beautiful location. Friendly, very welcoming, a breakfast to die for. Inge is so lovely and nothing istoo much bother. Lots of special extras. If you are anywhere in the area we would thoroughly recommend. Thank you Inge. Martin and Doreen .

Room Tip: Bellavista . Wonderful views. Ensuite , wi.fi , wine to purchase,, free welcoming glass of champagn...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

It was such much fun having you staying. You were such lovely people. Enjoy your travels through New Zealand and see you again in the Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: £101 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing