We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #3 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in the Romantica Suite for four nights in April 2014 and it was just perfect. The room was large, spotless and very comfortable with amazing views. Inge and Ed were great. Inge was so friendly and only too happy to help with anything including suggestions on what to see and do and went the extra mile when booking our Swim with the Dolphins tour (which was amazing). The breakfast was also amazing - as good as a 5 star hotel and the view while eating breakfast is just perfect. It's the only place I've stayed where the hotel owner walked me to my car and hugged me goodbye. Paihia was lovely and I would go back again just to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book the Romantica Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBastow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urma23, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We very much appreciate your wonderful comments. Thank you so much and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
447
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The name is perfectly descriptive - Chalet Romantica - a Swiss-style Alpine Chalet furnished and managed with Romantic panache and great style. It sits on a hill with wonderful views overlooking the sea. We took the last remaining room, the smaller 'Retreat', but it was private and cosy and anyway we had use of the main terrace for our sundowner glass of wine. Everything you could need is here, Inge has thought of everything, and placed it with great attention to presentation and detail. The garden and house is beautifully kept. The stunning breakfast table is surely out of a romantic dream.

How could you stay anywhere else when in Bay of Islands? Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank your for your wonderful review. We are happy that we could make your stay as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We loved New Zealand and wish we could go back soon, but one of our highlights was staying in Pahia, and the Chalet Romantica was the perfect place. The owner was amazing, so helpful and hospitable and kind, such a great source of information for getting around and what to do. We loved hearing the tui birds in the morning. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Pahia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillkb120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We very much appreciate your lovely comments. Looking forward to see you again next time you visit New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent two nights here in the Romantica suite on the top floor. The room was spacious with a kitchenette, separate bathroom and with a balcony with spectacular views. Yes there are a lot of stairs to get to the top, but you cannot expect a lift in a private home and in any event, Inge and Ed offer to help with the luggage.

The breakfast is beautifully presented and far superior to what is on offer in any 4 or 5 star hotel. It is served on a terrace looking over Paihia and the bay.

The B&B is not right in town and so a car is necessary unless a brisk walk up and down hill is not troublesome.

Inge is just a delightful hostess for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed our service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Chalet Romantica in Paihia is the perfect place to stay in. The view of the bay from the balcony is fabulous, the room is cosy and very well equiped with everything you can think of. Breakfast is delicious! And the atmosphere is just lovely thanks to Inge, the hostess. She is so nice and helped us with all we needed, including the boat trip booking for the next day, the laundry , great advices on how to spend the time in the bay of islands. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
So happy we could make your stay as enjoyable. See you again next time you visit Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was the find of our holiday. It wasn't *just* the fantastic view, the superb breakfast and the charming hosts, but the tiny details - from arriving at the door to find a sign welcoming us by name, to the lovely Inge bringing us a surprise glass of bubbly on the last night - which made our stay so special.

We stayed in the Bellavista (the other room is the Bellevue). The room is modern, well furnished with bed, safe, chairs, fridge and nightstands, has a drinks cabinet with modern glasses, and well-matched cups and plates, and some well-chosen inexpensive wines (NZD 25.00 / GBP 12.50).

The decor is pleasant without being kitsch or twee; on arrival fluffy slippers, towel and bathrobe were on the bed, neatly wrapped with a sprig of rosemary - a fragrance which was repeated in the soaps and handwashes of the (separate but exclusive) bathroom.

There is a small verandah overlooking the beautiful Bay of Islands, with a comfy sofa and matching chairs; perfect for watching the comings and goings of the Russell - Paihia sea traffic.

As for the hosts, what can I say? Inge is charming, good-humoured, helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and we even caught a glimpse of the semi-mythical Edi. I have never stayed in a B&B to rival the Chalet Romantica, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeBrownsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It gives us much pleasure to read that our guests enjoy our place and hospitality. Hope to spoil you soon again when you visit Paihia next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Chalet Romantica in the best location in Paihia, and my husband and I will definitely return. It is only a short walk to the many shops and restaurants, as well as the beach. The large rooms are just beautiful, and are very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable (a must for 2 people with back problems). Breathtaking views from the balcony and all windows add to the beauty of this place.
The breakfasts served overlooking the Bay of Islands beat those served at any 5 star hotel. And Inge and Ed are such wonderful hosts who gave us great advice on local attractions. Thank you both for an amazing stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for voting us the best B&B in New Zealand! It is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Property: Chalet Romantica
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing