We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Cabinz Motel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Bay Cabinz and really enjoyed the experience. The view from our cabin was lovely - looking over the Bay of Islands from Paihia. Our bed was very comfortable, shower was great. Everythin was very clean and the owners were helpfull. Easy walk to the shops, wharf, restaurants and club. Smooch the cat was also welcoming and friendly. Would recommend to family and friends and definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Bay Cabinz Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Lovely quiet cabins just off the main road through Paihia. Very friendly and relaxed owners.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

No traffic noise and Pete and Belinda are long term in the Bay so they know all the things to do and see. The units are awesome as they are individual so no noise from the neighbours!!!! A quick walk to the town ( under a minute ) and we just loved Smoochie the cat. DO yourself a favour and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a small motel complex with a lovely view of the bay. The units are small but very well fitted out with everything that one could want. Even a pair of scissors in the kitchen drawer.
We stayed of two nights and were very happy. The wrap round balcony is a lovely sun trap.

Room Tip: We had unit one which does not have much of a climb to it. If you have difficulty with alot of ste...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruakakakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice motel with independent cabins, we stayed for 2 nights. The owners were helpful and upgraded our room (we had got a garden view) to a cabin with sea view for free because the motel wasn't full. THe cabin was fine, but if there had been 3 of us in it, it might have been a bit jammed. Fast free wi-fi. Having said this, they didn't service our room as expected: rubbish was taken away, but the only towel we needed changing was still there when we returned in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backybacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We travelled to Paihia from Auckland for the weekend on our honeymoon.

Bay Cabinz would be a good place for married couples looking to take a break (probably with kids).

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Paihia beachfront.

The hike up to the rooms from the lobby is too big. Since we were on a long trip across NZ we had a lot of luggage. It would have been good if the management at least had a walkway and no stairs so that we could at least drag our bags up.

The rooms are good but not ideal for only a couple. Space is given for a small children's room within the room. The smaller room has bunk beds for kids which would be great for family with small children but the main room was a bit small for us.

The kitchenette was great with all the utensils very clean.

The views from the cabin were pretty good.

Pete was very helpful as well advising us on the sights around and also on departure advising an alternate route back to Auckland which was heavenly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinit_Ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Bay Cabinz in the Bay View room for almost a week. We arrived later than expected due to weather and were kindly welcomed by the owner. The rooms are ample, quiet, comfortable and clean. We had a local cat come and visit us every night, which was nice since we miss our pets at home (he was very well mannered)! The owners were unbelieveably friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again and recommend the Bay Cabinz to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The bay view cabin had a pretty view. We didn't see any other rooms, but this one was excellen...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#11 of 43 in Paihia
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £60 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing