We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Cabinz Motel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights here and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who was looking for a great location. It's just out of the centre of town and provides some lovely views and just a very short stroll into town. The accommodation is a little dated inside but in all honesty that's not really an issue as the cabins themselves are nice, the owners are really friendly and a great base to explore the Bay. Good laundry room and BBQ area too. I would certainly go back!! Just hope the old ginger cat holds up a little longer! X

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katyv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booking holiday accommodation online always includes a little doubt but the Bay Cabinz was an excellent choice. Bay Cabinz is smack in the middle of Paihia, about a block back from the waterfront which allowed for great views with peace and quiet. The hosts were very helpful with their local knowledge and booking trips for us. The strange offer of an umbrella on a clear morning was a godsend later that afternoon in Russell when it poured! There was a huge collection of books, games and DVDs to choose from. Our son enjoyed keeping their lovely old cat company in the sun!

Room Tip: We had number 2 which had a sea view across the bay. We also had a large pohutukawa beside our deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobyandfoghorn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

To be honest I've been to more scenic places and stayed in more lavish accoms but this spot was magic! We had a romantic getaway in a little kitchenette overlooking the ocean and it was all we could have asked of a couples getaway. Ocean views from the bed and no noise/neighbours to bother us. Bel & Pete even lent us champagne flutes from their own cupboards! It will always be one of my favourite weeks spent relaxing in a beautiful seaside spot and Bay Cabinz Motel played a massive part in shaping that memory.

Room Tip: rooms at the top of the hill have ocean views from bed - you don't even have to get up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeezonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Comprising a number of separate and self contained cabins offering great views, the accommodation is excellent for either short or long stay visitors. The hosts, Belinda and Peter, are very welcoming and cannot do enough for their guests.
As cabins are on the side of a steep hill they are possibly not ideal for visitors with walking difficulties as most units are accessed by ramps and steps.

Ideal accommodation and we enjoyed our stay very much .... In fact booked in for 2 days, stayed for 3 and wished it was longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocarinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have to say, I was a little unsure about whether I'd made a good choice or not in booking to stay here...however after having stayed at Bay Cabinz in January (bit slow to review I know ) I can now say that I'm very glad we booked here it was definitely the right choice! We had a lovely relaxing stay - the old ginger cat was a delight, he became our 'buddy' while we were there and I was quite sad to leave him! As we were staying in one of the cabins right up the top there were a number of stairs for him to haul himself up (poor thing had been recently beaten up by another cat) so quite often I'd carry him up if I caught him in the act or would take him down when I figured it was close to his 'dinner time' (having two cats we'd left at home I was quite happy to have an adopted 'holiday pet' haha). We had a nice view from our cabin and I enjoyed sitting outside reading (or quickly skipping back inside when it decided to rain a little!). We were just a short stroll away from shops and various restaurants etc so hardly used our rental car at all! Hopefully one day we'll return to Paihia and if we do I will not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: We chose high up to get a bit of a view, however if stairs are a bit difficult for you then there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Belinda and Peter were welcoming and facilitated easy booking, easy check in and the office is open till 9pm.

Cabin 6 is fairly small but cute. High raking ceilings with fan and heaters. Free unlimited wifi. The main room is an L shape with the queen bed in the smaller leg of the L. The bed has a cupboard on one side, on the other about 200mm space to walk down. To watch the tv you have to sit on the bed. Then in the longer section of the L there is the kichen dining area. There is no lounge and no lounge chairs but there are dining chairs. There are two decks facing different directions, one is covered and about 2m wide so would be ok even in rain. There and four deck chairs and two tables. The dining table is set against one wall but is large and there is lots of room to move around the cabin. The decks outside give you even more illusion of space.

The 2nd bedroom fits a single bed snugly with walking room on one side. It has a window but an open section up high on the wall between the main room means there would be no privacy for a third person or a second if you were sharing. The bathroom is long and narrow but the water is hot and unlimited, great pressure, great shower head.

There are windows all around but you can’t see into any other cabin which is pretty incredible and the gardens and trees all around are lovely. From our cabin there are water glimpses if you sort of crane your neck but you are up high and it is a really lovely atmosphere to the whole place so this isn’t a negative in anyway. The sun streams into the small but fully equipped kitchen which has hot plates, microwave and fridge, toaster, kettle etc. There are blinds on every window if you want them. Very, very quiet, only the birds tweeting. Exceptionally clean, including decks and walkways. Nice sheets, good bed, variety of different pillows provided in the room so no trekking to the office for alternatives. Thick large white towels etc and washers (not often provided) replaced when you want. No tissues but soap and shampoo and separate conditioner is provided.

By road it’s about 10 mins walk to the shop and restaurant area in Paihia. But if you walk across the school carpark it is about 4 mins door to door. This didn’t show up on google. Driving its about 2 mins.

Really clean, really nice place would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieastrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having checked on Trip Advisor before I booked, this accommodation seemed to be getting thumbs up so I booked.

When I arrived Peter was very friendly when checking me in and suggested some places where I could visit in the area.

I was given cabin 8 which is quite a hike up steps but it was worth it for the view alone! The room was very spacious and all the facilities that I would need (kettle, toaster etc). The room has plenty of windows so it was nice and light and very clean. The bathroom had an excellent shower and the little bedroom was ideal to keep all my belongings in for my duration of the trip.

I highly recommend that if you are in the Paihia area you book one of these cabins - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Property: Bay Cabinz Motel
Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing