We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Paihia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Cabinz Motel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay in Paihia!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a great time in Paihia and Bay Cabins Motel was perfect. Cabins nestled in the bush. Each cabin has a balcony, so you can eat outside and listen to the birds. The owners were very helpful knowledgeable. Just a short walk to local shops and restaurants, but better than staying on the waterfront.

Stayed 3 nights end January 2014 - 2 girls travelling.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaronHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We had such a nice time in Bay Cabins Motel. The Cabins are great, nested in the bush, with birds everywhere. Each cabin has a balcony, so you can have breakfast and rest outside. The owners are very helpful and nice and the ginger cat very friendly. Just short 5 minute walk to town but so much better than the noisy super expensive motels on the waterfront !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lulu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights here and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who was looking for a great location. It's just out of the centre of town and provides some lovely views and just a very short stroll into town. The accommodation is a little dated inside but in all honesty that's not really an issue as the cabins themselves are nice, the owners are really friendly and a great base to explore the Bay. Good laundry room and BBQ area too. I would certainly go back!! Just hope the old ginger cat holds up a little longer! X

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katyv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booking holiday accommodation online always includes a little doubt but the Bay Cabinz was an excellent choice. Bay Cabinz is smack in the middle of Paihia, about a block back from the waterfront which allowed for great views with peace and quiet. The hosts were very helpful with their local knowledge and booking trips for us. The strange offer of an umbrella on a clear morning was a godsend later that afternoon in Russell when it poured! There was a huge collection of books, games and DVDs to choose from. Our son enjoyed keeping their lovely old cat company in the sun!

Room Tip: We had number 2 which had a sea view across the bay. We also had a large pohutukawa beside our deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobyandfoghorn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

To be honest I've been to more scenic places and stayed in more lavish accoms but this spot was magic! We had a romantic getaway in a little kitchenette overlooking the ocean and it was all we could have asked of a couples getaway. Ocean views from the bed and no noise/neighbours to bother us. Bel & Pete even lent us champagne flutes from their own cupboards! It will always be one of my favourite weeks spent relaxing in a beautiful seaside spot and Bay Cabinz Motel played a massive part in shaping that memory.

Room Tip: rooms at the top of the hill have ocean views from bed - you don't even have to get up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeezonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Comprising a number of separate and self contained cabins offering great views, the accommodation is excellent for either short or long stay visitors. The hosts, Belinda and Peter, are very welcoming and cannot do enough for their guests.
As cabins are on the side of a steep hill they are possibly not ideal for visitors with walking difficulties as most units are accessed by ramps and steps.

Ideal accommodation and we enjoyed our stay very much .... In fact booked in for 2 days, stayed for 3 and wished it was longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocarinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have to say, I was a little unsure about whether I'd made a good choice or not in booking to stay here...however after having stayed at Bay Cabinz in January (bit slow to review I know ) I can now say that I'm very glad we booked here it was definitely the right choice! We had a lovely relaxing stay - the old ginger cat was a delight, he became our 'buddy' while we were there and I was quite sad to leave him! As we were staying in one of the cabins right up the top there were a number of stairs for him to haul himself up (poor thing had been recently beaten up by another cat) so quite often I'd carry him up if I caught him in the act or would take him down when I figured it was close to his 'dinner time' (having two cats we'd left at home I was quite happy to have an adopted 'holiday pet' haha). We had a nice view from our cabin and I enjoyed sitting outside reading (or quickly skipping back inside when it decided to rain a little!). We were just a short stroll away from shops and various restaurants etc so hardly used our rental car at all! Hopefully one day we'll return to Paihia and if we do I will not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: We chose high up to get a bit of a view, however if stairs are a bit difficult for you then there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#27 of 43 in Paihia
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Property: Bay Cabinz Motel
Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing