We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic ocean view across the Bay.”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed at the Bay View Motel in June 2007 for 4 nights; fantastic view overlooking the bay. Rose the owner told us that she had only taken over the lease in February 2007. The decor we understand will gradually be upgraded to 21st century standards. We feel that we did obtain value for money accommodation since this was out of season. The shower was great too! The only set back during our stay was a certain lack of adequate heating; however I am sure that this will be put right in the near future. Rose was a very pleasant person and I am sure she would want her business to succeed by providing a 100% commitment to customer care. Hopefully, one day in the future we would return again; however, this time we would try to book during the summer period.

Also not forgetting Munty (beautiful and loving cat!)....We hope to see him again....had a great time with Munty!

All the very best for the future....Grace and Len Martin (England)

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Snowy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 118 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2007

We have just experienced the most wonderful few days at the Bayview Motel at Paihia. What a magnificent spot! The view is world-class, the units are absolutely spotless, there are unlimited activities within walking distance of the motel, and if you can have a break away which is totally relaxing as well as totally exciting, then we've just had it! But as everyone who has ever stayed in a motel knows, you can have the most wonderful setting, but if the hospitality is second-class, so is the holiday. Rose, at the Bayview couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. All our excursions were booked for us efficiently and with much-needed advice on which activities were available and would most suit our needs and timetables. Our every need was seen to promptly and with the minimum of fuss. This without doubt would have to be the best Motel we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in plenty. Well done, Rose, A+++ for you!! Good luck with your modernisation programme, and we will be seeing you again next year if not before!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dog02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Lovely motel in the beuatiful Bay of Islands. Rose is a superb host who catered for our every need. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Ours had a wonderful view of the Bay. At this time of the year (NZ winter) this motel presented very good value for money. We had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Thanks Rose

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

I stayed at the Bay View Motel in March '07 with many family members and friends that were in Paihia attending a wedding. We wanted to make a holiday out of the time we had there and couldn't have been happier staying at the Bay View Motel.

This motel is SERIOUSLY close to the town centre - I'm talking about a 1 minute walk if that!!! If you want to stay close to shops, resaurants, the wharf and activities then Bay View is probably the closest motel.

The motel also has a fantastic view of the bay looking out directly over to Russell. The rooms get heaps of sun throughout the day, and we often sat on the huge balconies eating breakfast each morning. Also, all rooms have full kitchen and cooking facilities which is great if you want to save money from eating out all the time.

The motel also has a recently refurbished spa, which you can book out when you want to use it, and the owner, Rose can arrange sightseeing trips and activites like the Hole in the Rock and fishing excursions - she'll work out the best deal for you and book with no bother. This saves a lot of time and hassle going around each company trying to see who has the better deals.

Overall, this motel was clean, comfortable and in the very best location in Paihia. My partner and I have booked another stay at the Bay View Motel for this October, and when I called to book, the owner told me that she's undergone renovations including new beds, bedding and carpet and painting.

Definitely looking forward to retuning to the Bay View Motel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Eva111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

I flew to the Bay of Islands for a short holiday, took a taxi to Paihia and chose the Bayview Motel for its waterfront location and proximity to the township. As it turned out, my random selection couldn't have been more fortunate.
I give the owner, Rose, 110% for effort and friendly service. She went out of her way to assist with advice about what to do in the township and where to go in the wider Bay area. Nothing was a bother, all enquiries met with a friendly smile.
The room had a great view of the Bay and was spacious and warm, with sun morning and afternoon. The cleaning service was unobtrusive but very thorough. A top base for spending time in the Bay of Islands and one I will certainly look to stay in again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2006

Situated in a great position with a lovely view of the Bay of Islands, the Bay View Motel is typical of many privately owned motels in NZ: very well cared for, extremely clean but in need of an update. It would have been a courtesy to have been told on booking that an extension of the Kingsgate Hotel was being built within 10 metres of the motel during our stay, but I am sure that by the next season the building work will have been finished. It is also irritating to find that GST tax was not included in the price quoted especially in a tourist motel where the likelyhood is that the tax could not be reclaimed. However, the motel is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, New Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2007

Hi there. I took over the ownership of the Bayview Motel on 1st February this year and would like to thank for your honest and constructive feedback. I fully agree that the motel was in need of a serious update and would just like to let you know that it is being painted inside and out, as I write! New carpets have been laid and I now have new beds, bedding and linen. It is my goal and passion to make this motel as comfortable, welcoming and memorable as possible and already I've had fantastic feedback from people who have been coming here for many years. If you ever come back to Paihia, I'd love you to come and see all the improvements I've made. You would be most welcome.
Kind regards
Rose M Robinson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing