We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and outdated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here 1 night and don't think I'd ever go back. I paid $160 for a waterfront room (non peak season) and the furniture in room is very outdated (wallpaper falling off walls etc) the bed was real uncomfortable and had a terrible sleep. One good thing is the location, nice that it's by the waterfront. There is a spa on the premises to which is a plus, however, the spa was not very clean. I later found out that the motels just down the road (which were more modern and a lot nicer) were actually cheaper than this one. the photos on the internet definitely do this place justice. I suggest asking to see the room before booking it, especially for $160.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
The amount you paid for your accommodation was actually $140.00 not $160.00 which knowing our competitors rates was the lowest in April of all motels on the waterfront with a seaview.Had you brought your disatisfaction to my notice on arrival I would have relocated you on our top floor which had just been refurbished.The ground floor apartment you occupied is currently being refurbished.Next time please complain upfront so that management are given an oppurtunity to address your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    33
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Bayview Motel approx. 7 times. We totally love it. We always book the front unit where there is such a great view from your balcony. Everything we need is in walking distance. Also it is spotlessly clean. Just been there this last weekend and can't wait for for our next visit there.

Room Tip: Try for the front room with the spacious balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Carol thankyou very much for your lovely comments.It's a pity the weather was not perfect as Paihia's weather has been a while back.The apartment you were in was no.8 on the top floor for future reference.We are pleased you enjoyed the result of our refurbishment.From the 1st June we start our Winter Special,3 nights for $240.00.Hope to see you again soon.Regards Graham and Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have stayed at the Bayview Motel many times and thought it was about time I let others know about it. It is in the perfect location if you are staying in Paihia, it is within easy walking distance to the shops, cafes and restaurants, also the wharf where you can catch the ferry to Russell or take a Hole in the Rock cruise, or any of the many activities based in Paihia. The motel is always extremely clean and tidy, the staff and management are friendly and helpful and the views over the Bay are fantastic. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimArcherNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thankyou for the lovely review.Paihia has so many positive features which makes a visitors stay so worthwhile provided the accommodation is what is expected.Belinda and I try very hard to achieve this and are really pleased when our guests notice.Once our refurbishment program is complete shortly, guests stays will be even more enjoyable.Being right on the waterfront with an incredible view we are going to benefit even more from Paihia's future plans to upgrade the waterfront facilities.We would love to have you back soon so watch out for our 3 day Winter Special.You will see our advert in the Herald paper. Graham and Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great Location, had a partial sea view from the little balcony. Good spacious apartment which could have slept 4. Bathroom and kitchen facilities were good and clean. Didn't see the Spa room so cannot comment. Good value for money, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TitusTheTinyTerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Bayview and considered it good value.The weather was kind to you fortunately.Hope you returned to the UK safe and sound.Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Four of us had the two front apartments which had brilliant views and right on the beachfront and a short walk to everything. I was amazed at the low tariff considering the location and it is mainly because the apartments haven't been touched in decades but still have that old charm. The kitchenette was good and we had loads of room. Sadly if we come back to Paihia this motel will have been renovated and much more expensive so get in while you can.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thankyou for your very kind comment.I can assure you that when our refurbishment is complete our rates will not go through the roof.Our rates in fact are going to reduce further as we head into winter and our Xmas/New Year rates have just been set at only 8% higher.Watch for our WOOLY WINTER SPECIAL......3 nights for $300 on the waterfront with seaview and $240 without a seaview.Hope to see you back soon.Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Great location to the shops,restaurants and beach.
Rooms are old but clean.It could be really nice if we stay in seafront room.
We stayed 3bed rooms apartment.No view at all and Kids were looking forward to the Spa(i thought it is out side spa somehow....)but bit disappointed.It was really dank and smell like a old gold fish tank.

Room Tip: Seafront of Second floor would be great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opensesami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thankyou for your comments.You are so right and we agree.That's why we have started a refurbishment program which will be complete by mid May 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a great motel to relax and explore the beauty of the Bay of Islands. We received a very friendly welcome and had a great spacious apartment complete with generous balcony. Couldn't ask for more and would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Bay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace10Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#30 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Property: Bayview Motel
Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing