We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay at fab place.”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab stay at fab place.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable two nights at this excellent motel. The room was well equipped with fantastic views and was really outstanding value for money. Although the weather was not the best we spent many an hour sitting looking out on the beautiful scenery. The level of service was also just right, not intrusive but help and advice was available when needed or wanted. Would definitely make a return visit if the opportunity arose. A five star establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Wow 10 out of 10.
Thankyou for that.It makes the long hours really worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    33
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our unit was quite spacious compared to ones near by that were significantly more expensive. Property is right on water front, is centrally located, and our unit had great view over the bay. A bonus for us was the bbqs (1 per 2 units). Out host Graham was friendly and helpful in advise and booking trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thankyou for that super review.It's most satisfying to learn that our guests are happy with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed for a night here on 10th Oct, I booked a sea view studio room and got room no 8 which had a lovely glass front so I could look around the bay. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a sky light. There was also the use of a barbecue on the patio area.

Room Tip: If you're a couple or on your own room 8 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da'Vonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
The apartments on the top floor really do have a fab. view of the bay especially no.8.Lying in bed watching the sun rise over the Bay has got to be one of the best ways to enjoy the Islands.We get so many compliments about the top floor apartments.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Bayview. While the room is not the newest we have seen, it was very clean, well looked after and most importantly had a good comfortable bed. The location is great with just a short walk down to eating places and a beautiful view in the morning. Our host was most obliging, pleasant and helpful. In terms of value for money this had to be about the best we found in NZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Luke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thankyou very much for such complimentary comments.We do try hard to please our guests and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Considering the Bayview to be the best value you have found in New Zealand is really a feather in our cap.Thankyou very much. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were looking for value for money, and the Bayview Motel was excellent. Older style accomodation, neat and clean with everything that opens and shuts . Graeme ourt host was very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, he took the time to recommend local restaurants, locals must see and do's. Free wi fi, free parking what more could you ask for . Cheers B& K

Room Tip: choose a room downstairs, those steps are long when you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thankyou Kerry for those great comments.Yes steps are always an unwanted necessity but the view from up there makes it worthwhile.Next time you visit make me carry your luggage up.....I always need the exercise.Keep well....Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Paihia is one of our favourite holiday destinations and we only ever stay at Bayview Motel My parents and I have stayed here numerous times over the years from when I was a kid. My husband and I are booked to stay in September with our own son and we will be staying here for many more years to come. The location is amazing with awesome views and the units are always clean and tidy. Graham has been extremely helpful with our booking which makes everything so much easier too. We can't wait to get there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Your review is so complimentary,thankyou for those kind words.Since our refurbishment guests comments have been so positive making the whole expensive process really worthwhile.Everyone loves Paihia with its fab. setting and things to do.I always feel sorry for guests who stay 1 night and then when they discover what Paihia has to offer,they regret not being able to stay at least 3 nights.Look forward to hosting you again soon.Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Bayview motel in Paiha last weekend for three nights. We absolutely enjoyed our experience and found Graham the proprietor friendly and extremely helpful and willing to go the extra mile. He has extensive local knowledge and shared it generously about restaurants and sights to see. The unit was clean comfortable and well equipped and it had the best service we have ever experienced. I would highly recommend staying at this motel and will be going back there in the future myself. There was nothing better than sitting on the leather couch looking out at the sea view in the evening, or on the deck eating a barbecued dinner. On the day we left Graham allowed us to leave our car under shelter at the motel while we spent the day in Russell. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine-Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thankyou for the perfect review.The top floor apartment you stayed in is certainly an experience on its own with the magnificent Bay in front and the sun rising over Russell across the Bay.I wish we had another dozen apartments with that top view.It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to hosting you both again.With plenty notice we will book you into the same apartment again. Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#27 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Property: Bayview Motel
Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing