We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel on our NZ trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Averill Court Motel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Averill Court was the first motel we stayed in on our recent trip. It consists of a small group of fully renovated units surrounding a small grassy area, pool and covered barbeque. The parking is a bit tight especially when there are fishing boats parked, but its easily handled. We enjoyed the birds in the trees around the courtyard, especially the Tui calls. Other reviews comment on the cleanliness and I must echo them. On average all of the NZ motels we stayed in were clean, but this one was spotless, including under the bed. Unit 18 included a small but complete kitchen, a bathroom with shower, a bedroom and a sitting room and kitchen table. The owners, Sue and Danny, were very helpful, not only with maps, pamphlets and arrangements for tours, plus directions to grocery stores, gas stations and liquor stores, but also with suggestions for restaurants and the best fish to order. We forgot to buy oil for the barbeque and they provided some. We also arrived without our luggage which was lost by the airline and was going to take a day to arrive. Sue helped us chase it down for us. The first day we drove into town and out to Waitangi (it's quite a walk, so take your car), but thereafter we walked into town which takes only 5-10 minutes. The walk along the beach side in the morning is very enjoyable, followed by coffee on the deck at the dock. I understand breakfast can be provided, but we managed on our own. We also did not use the laundry as we were at the start of the trip, but it appeared complete. My one disappointment was that when we went to take a swim the second day, we found the pool drained for cleaning and it wasn't ready for use for the remainder of our visit. Just bad luck.

Room Tip: Only looked into a couple of units but they all appeared clean and functional.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Averill Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

This Motel is exceptionally good value. It has been recently refurbished to a very good standard and the unit we stayed in (11) was spotlessly clean and fresh,with car parking outside the door. The owners and staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is ideally located in a quiet area and is only a very short stroll to restaurants, shops, marina and the beach.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Value for money is the key here! Its simply fabulous. The rooms are spacious, cleaner then some hotel rooms you might have come across, the beds comfortable, the people running it very friendly and even wifi is available and included. Everything you could ask for if you stop over. A very positive surprise, would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaciAVaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights during a touring holiday of New Zealand. Managed to qualify for a 3 for 2 night offer which made this the best value accomodation of the whole trip. The room was freshly decorated, spacious and had everything you could possibly need for a stop over. The receptionists were welcoming and helpful. Tucked slightly around the corner from the beach the motel benefited from a quiet location but was within easy walking distance of excellent bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Booked a 2 bed room apartment for 1 night stay with this motel and apparently it seems neat and newly furnished. Also as one of my family member has a sudden toothache, they allowed us to stay a little longer so as to seek medical treatment. With reasonable price and good environment, Thanks a lot guys!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had the good fortune to be recommended this motel by I-Site personnel in Warkworth and very glad they did so.
Clean, spacious and modern rooms at what must be the best dollar value in the Bay of Islands area. Very well run, friendly, helpful managemant and staff made our five night stay a very pleasurable end to our NZ North Island trip.
Close to the town centre, but not in the hustle and bustle of the main street. This motel is very quiet and is to recommended to anyone looking for accommodation in Paihia.
Well done to the management and staff

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 at the rear of the motel, which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a treasure for us. The owners are very accommodating. They have kitchens in every room...a place to grill food outside, a hot tub & pool that are pristine. The place is cozy, beautiful, friendly, & reasonably priced. If you call them directly you get a discount 09 402 7716. It was the perfect place for us. If we could we would've hitched them to our car & taken them with us. Great location, easy walk to town. They have excellent ideas as to what is good in the area...take their recommendations, they're spot on! Enjoy this place, we certainly did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Averill Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Averill Court Motel

Address: 62 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £41 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Averill Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Averill Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Averill Court Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing