We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes ... It's not about the hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sometimes ... It's not about the hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The motel's great - don't get me wrong. Spacious, clean, well-appointed apartments with almost anything that you can need near at hand. What I did find as I read the reviews before booking this place, and what I experienced firsthand during our far-too-short, 2 day stay at Bali Hai, was that, at the end of the day, the physical, brick-and-mortar hotel doesn't matter as much, to most people who stay here, as the slightly Shrek-like, rough-on-the-edges-but-all-soft-and-cuddly-inside, and per his own admission, occasionally slightly smelly host - Andrew. ;)

Andrew runs a great motel, no doubt, but what really made the stay memorable for us, is that we went expecting a nice room with a nice view, but came away with an unforgettable experience of NZ ,NZ hospitality, and the Bay of Islands - and a large part of the credit for this goes to Andrew. He came aboard from the moment I made the booking – making planning a very tight 2 days in Paihia a cinch while we were still in India, and even dragging us out of bed to make sure we didn’t sleep through what were some very early starts (after some very long flights.)

I would recommend Bali Hai to anybody visiting Paihia – it’s a great motel, and you’re assured of a great time, not just while in the motel, but in your experience of the absolutely wonderful Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshwinYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    94
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
110
187
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at Bali Hai with my 13 year old son. Andrew certainly made us feel welcome and special. He ran through the things to do in Paihia and booked our tours for us. He was always making sure things were ok and checking on us. The accomodation was perfect for what we wanted. Ideal cooking facilities and bedroom layout. Spa pool was great. Lacation is great as well. Even though it is not in the heart of town it is close enough to walk if you are keen or a short 1 minute drive away. The advantage of not being in the centre of town is that it is very quiet. The views from the rooms are awesome. All in all a great place to stay and not expensive. Thanks Andrew and best of luck in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely worth a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankalilla, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights. Our welcome was enthusiastic with a comprehensive rundown on the rooms, facilities and Paihia highlights (thankyou Andrew). Our room was a great size, being a studio room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom adequate and the kitchenette had all we needed. There was a shed out the back with a dvd library for guests, barbques (free) and table and chairs for each unit. Parking was underneath the units. There was also a spa room and laundry downstairs as well. Andrew was very good at helping to organise tours, trips etc and was more than happy to book them for you. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom looked as though it had recently been renovated. The view from the balcony was lovely. The location was not central to the town shops, restaurants etc but with a hire car it was not a problem. It was quiet and relaxing. The complex is only small with I think 8 or 9 units so there werent alot of people around making noise. I did find that the walls between units were a bit thin.(!!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzanrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again when I visit again?
Andrew the host is a great guy who helped us lots to make sure or stay was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed in a standard room at the bali hai motel in paihia and it was perfect! It has everything you need and more, it has a fantastic LCD tv, a wide range of dvds an amazing view of the beach and the sunset setting on the hills, along with this it has a spa pool and access to a magnifficent pool. Andrew was an amazingly helpful person to me while I stayed there, very friendly and will go out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. I would recommend it to anyone travelling up north. Overall the Bali Hai was a brilliant Motel 10/10!!!

Room Tip: there is no need to add a tip to help you choose a good room, all the rooms are fantastic although i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent four weeks travelling around North Island and I can say that the Bali Hai was the best motel we found by far. Our intent was to stay for one night but decided to use the Bali Hai as a base and stayed three nights! In common with (some) other motels, we found it to be very clean and comfortable, but others did not offer the same welcome - they did not have Andrew! I challenge anyone to find a more personable and helpful host. Andrew booked trips for us, ordered take away food, a taxi, and as I have a broken back, he even washed the car for us!! Every aspect of the Bali Hai reflected Andrew's obvious desire to ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay and was very much appreciated.
Linda & Julian, Kent, England.

Room Tip: No issues at all with our room. As only 9 rooms there is no reason to assume others would differ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This small motel has a number of things going for it - helpful, friendly owner, good rooms with full kitchen facilities, hot tub, access to a pool, nice view. Free use of barbecues and DVD library. If you don't have a car you might find it a bit far from downtown. My only other quibble would be that I prefer bar soap over the liquid soap provided.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing