We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The manageress, Barbara, was lovely; very friendly and helpful. It was raining so we weren't up for a cruise round the islands but she came up with lots of alternatives for us to do. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The coffee/tea etc was all Fair Trade, the rug was funky and sparkly, there were BBQs and a DVD library for our use and the whole place had been treated to stop insects/bugs coming in - heaven for someone like me who is petrified on creepy crawlies! Hope to go back again and certainly happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billinlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Billie & Drew - thank you so much for your review. I would love to see you both return and please contact me directly, if you are planning to do so. I hope the rest of your sightseeing in the area went well. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    95
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
110
189
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

we experienced a very pleasant stay at the bali hai. the rooms are well furnished, highly practical with an amazing ocean views from your personal balcony. a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of paihia. the hospitably provided to us over the duration of our stay was warm and welcoming wit

Room Tip: room number 8 or 9. these rooms are optimal for view and access to the bbq area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
HI Callum
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a pleasant stay. Our BBQ's are on wheels, so can be moved closer to a room if required. Hope to see you both again.
Best wishes
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights at this delightful motel. Barbara made us most welcome, she even folded some of our washing (what an angel) we would certainly recommend this to anybody wishing to stay in the Bay of Islands area. THANKS BARBARA
Regards Carol & John

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks Carol & John, yes when you are on holiday, sometimes the mundane chores like folding the washing can be mysteriously resolved:) Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The response and assistance from Barbara to our initial booking inquiries was great as the third member of our family is a miniature Dachshund. We were very well received on arrival and quickly accommodated, including parking for our car which is a bit high to park under the units. The rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean. The bathroom would look good in any five star establishment. The added extras like freely available videos and BBQ paraphernalia including oil and spices on the covered back deck were a life saver. Pahia township and the nearest beach are easy to walk to and the information provided on local facilities is good. Barbara gave us a good send off and is open to suggestions and new ideas. We will be back.

Room Tip: Barbara kindly suggested the best room for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robmackreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I look forward to seeing you next time. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I, along with our 3 adult children, traveled to New Zealand for vacation this year. We spent 2 nights at the Bali Hai Motel while visiting the Bay of Islands. We very much enjoyed our stay. Barbara is an excellent, thoughtful host. We rented one of her 2 bedroom units, so we didn't have to arrange for multiple units. It had a nice kitchen - we didn't do much cooking, but it was great to have a refrigerator and be able to eat cereal in the morning. The unit was comfortable, clean, and practical; conveniently located close to town. I would highly recommend the place to others looking for a place to stay near the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaRoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dana
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I really appreciate your positive feedback about myself and the property. I trust you and your family had a safe trip back to California, and I hope you can visit Paihia and the Bali Hai again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I spotted this place form the road and am very glad I did. It was a lovely place to have a break and would be even better in the summer as there was a large area at the back for BBQs.

I stayed in room 1 which was nicely decorated and very clean, with a fantastic kitchen area with everything you could need. There were electric blankets, heaters and lots of spare blankets so it was nice and cosy in the evening too. I made full use of the DVD library which I thought was really cool for chilling out in the evening.

It's a 5 minute walk into Paihai centre or 1 minute the other was to another small beach which was beautiful and quite. Barbara was a fantastic host who really made me feel at home, I look forward to going back again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spills42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello Sarah
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I appreciate it and glad that you found your stay relaxing. The nearest beach walk is lovely, and I am glad you discovered it.
Thanks and see you next time. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were staying 2 nights at the Bali Hai Motel as a holiday. It was very good places to had a rest.
And good location, view is good, especially in the morning sunrise and fog are fantastic.
But I just suggest that it should have hot pool to having rest during winter season. After driving, we need a hot water pool in order to relax our bodies. That's my comment only for you. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: In front of the room for choose having sunny day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinstone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Sungho
GamSa Habni Da (thank you) for your review. It made me smile.
I am sorry you did not manage to get to Ngawha springs, the nearest hot pools, as I mentioned
they are very good value.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I wish you and your family a safe trip
back to Korea. Warm regards Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing