We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pearl of the Bay
Nearby Hotels
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
299
97
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
97
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdvd librarymanager barbaranew zealandlocal knowledgegas bbqenjoyed our staymin driveour room was spaciousgreat place to staycooking facilitiesquiet locationthe kitchena lovely stayone bedroom apartmentstayed here for nightslaundry facilitiesthe waitangi treaty grounds
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Highly recommended. This is one of those lovely small motels with a personal service with all the facilities you could need a short walk away. The owner, Barbera, is very service oriented and helpful, and goes to extreme lenghts to ensure all guests are well looked after. She has lots of local knowledge and provides helpful advice. Even the older rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable, but even so are in the process of being upgraded to an even higher standard. There are BBQ and laundry facilities, the kitchenette was well equiped and stocked with fresh milk for coffee and tea. Cars can be parked directly underneath the room, out of the sun. What more can you possibly want?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for such a positive and detailed review. Very much appreciated. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were so very welcomed by the manager Barbara, who was full of great tips and ideas for sightseeing and eating in and around town. our rooms were lovely, clean and spacious complete with a stunning view over the inlet, full kitchenette and extensive DVD library. Only a short walk into town via the beach or road. Recommend to solo travellers, those travelling with friends, couples or families.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank salpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you, I appreciate your positive feedback and comments. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Extremely highly recommended!
A friend and I stayed for 3 nights.
Stunning 180 degree views from the inlet to the forest, front row views of sunset from balcony/lounge and kitchen!
Beach access 1 min walk, then max 20 mins walk along beach into Paihia town or via road max. 10 mins walk or 1 min drive.
Rooms comfy, spotless, full kitchen very handy, TVs in both rooms, lush towels and soap provided and free wifi&dvd library for all guests. Quiet location apart from hearing passing cars at times - only 9 other units.
Gorgeous Barbara the manager gave such a warm welcome, including tourist info tips, nothing too much trouble for her, fresh milk in fridge & we were even allowed to keep our car on the property whilst we went on an overnight cruise.
You will love it here!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckLovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you, your review is much appreciated. We always try to help our guests and often people leave here to do an overnight trip, so we do take care of their car in their absence. All part of the personal service. Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

In the height of the tourist season, Paihia can me be a little overwhelming. The Bali Hai is just slightly out of town, so you can see everything you came to see but go somewhere quiet (with a great view) to relax afterwards.

My friends and I thought the Bali Hai was the best place we stayed on our holiday and manager Barbara is fantastically helpful, friendly and will help you find everything you need in Paihia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thanks Poppy, so nice to know that we were the best place you stayed in. That makes me very happy. Location is important, and you are right we are just close enough to be convenient, yet far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle of other people's noise. We are on a hill, so the views are good with the additional height that we have. Thank you so much for your review and best wishes to you all. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, Barbara was so eager to give us he tips of where to go and what to do in our week long stay. Rooms were impressive, they certainly belie to older style facade. The whole week we were comfortable, looked after and most of all, very rested. It was so sad when we had to go to our next destination. Barbara even gave us tips on where to have lunch on the trip back towards Auckland - again, spot on with great advice. Next time we are in Paihia, we certainly know where we are staying and will be telling all our mates to do the same. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relmak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you Andrew, I appreciate your review and I am glad that you felt rested and looked after whilst you were here. I hope you will both be able to return at some point in the future...and YES, send your friends :) Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews