We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, service and amenities at Bali Hai”
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome views, service and amenities at Bali Hai”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Bali Hai and explored the Bay of Islands (BOI) from this base. We enjoyed returning from our adventures to our room with the fantastic views. We cooked in 2 nights and watched DVDs from the excellent library. We had all the cooking utensils and small appliances that we needed. Barbara, the manager, was very eager to make our vacation memorable, and she succeeded by booking the BOI cruise and making excellent restaurant recommendations. The Bali Hai is located a bit out of town which meant either walking about 15 minutes or driving. I do believe that the Bali Hai's location is preferable to comparable motels in town which are right next to the busy coastal road.

We enjoyed golfing at the friendly Waitangi Golf Course just outside of Paihia. Reasonable price for green fees and rentals. The views would make Pebble Beach jealous.

Room Tip: We asked for unit 9 which is an end unit with views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you, it is great to read a positive review, we take our role seriously and want our guests to be happy and satisfied. I am glad that everything went well for you during your 4 night visit with us. Best wishes
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    95
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
110
189
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent 3 days here January 2014 with my wife and 5 year old daughter. Barbara the owner is fantastic, very friendly, nothing is too much trouble for her. Rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. Lots of nice little touches like bbqs guest can use and a dvd library, washing machine etc. Very good location not in the centre of Paihia so quiet at night. We stayed in quite a few motels during our 3 weeks and Bali Hai was definitely the best, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is important to us that we maintain guest satisfaction for each and every person that stays. I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts.
Best wishes
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The lovely motel have clean rooms & completed facilities. The host is so kind and considerate. During our 4 nights stay, Barbara gave us great helps both in trip & daily life. We really enjoy our holiday @ Paihia!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy_Ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Xièxiè Candy
I appreciate you taking the time to place a review. I am glad that you and your family had a lovely
visit with us and that you had a great holiday. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I was really pleased with Bali Hai. Barbara was friendly, and helpful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that had a kitchen with an oven, so we cooked a meal one night rather than eating out again. Recycling encouraged, which is great.

I did a load of washing ($5 - had been cheaper or free in other hotels) but got to hang out our clothes on their line to dry in the sun (always preferred). Only 'complaint' was that we had to wash up our own dishes every day. This was the only place we stayed in that asked us to do this. The DVD library was great so we relaxed and watched movies in our room after a day out. Location is a short drive to main town, or a walk if you prefer. We walked, on Barbara's suggestion, from our room down around the beach to Paihia, and it was lovely. A view from balcony of beach and hillside. Saw a beautiful sunset one night. A beautiful town and a comfortable, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello Kim
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

So many highlights on our Tour of New Zealand, but this really was a stunning Motel. Barbara runs a beautiful little establishment, with the emphasis on service & the personal touch which can sometimes be missing from larger premises. Fabulous location with great views, balcony overlooking the water & a backyard for a more sheltered outdoor area. If you want to visit the Bay of Islands then go & see Barbara & see for yourself. Just wish we could have stayed more than two nights

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Wow, thank you that is a great review. I appreciate that you took the time and I am glad that you felt cared for whilst you were here. I wish you could have stayed longer too - anyone reading this, you need to spend a good few days in Paihia, it is worth it. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon. Barbara was an amazing host. What we liked most about this place was the small touches. The DVD library, the access to the BBQ to cook meals on (with oils, wraps, etc. available) and the functionality of the kitchen facilities provided. Our room was spacious, clean and well maintained. Bit of a hill walk into town but nothing too bad. We had a car so this didn't present a problem and the under cover parking was appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alahna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. When you are a smaller property, it is the little things that can make a difference. I am glad that for your honeymoon, you felt you had made a good choice. Best wishes for the future. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A party of 7, we rented 3 apartments at this motel where we spent 4 wonderful days over christmas. Barbara the owner was amazing, an excellent host always on hand very helpful with tips on places to see & places to eat. She reviewed places for us to eat christmas day & communicated with us by email prior to our arrival so we could plan ahead and book our Christmas day meal. On Christmas day morning Barbara visited each apartment with Christmas wishes , a personalised card, bottle of wine & chocolates, which was a lovely thought & perfect start to our Christmas day. Our apartments were spotless and very comfortable, complete with everything you could need. Two of the apartments were recently refurbished, and I would definitely rate this a 5 when the apartments are all complete. Fantastic views from our balcony and only a short distance to town centre. Great place would highly recommended it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do have a Christmas tradition which involves me wearing a lot of red & white on Christmas morning, and it is a nice way to make the day special for our Christmas day guests. It was lovely to meet you all and I am glad that all your advance planning went well. Best wishes to you all. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing