We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location walking distance to town”
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent three nights at this location and although older style units they are of a good size, all rooms have been recently renovated and have full size oven and being second floor with parking directly underneath have great views of the surrounding hills or in room 9 of Ophmu bay and harbour. Several BBQs out back, condiments provided, and a good range of DVDs at no charge. wifi access is very good, unlike where I'm at tonight more about that later, better than most in NZ and all topped off with a very accommodating host Barberra who was very accommodating and helpful with local knowledge. Even checked in to see how my day had gone!

Room Tip: Take room nine if free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hello Michael, thank you for your review. You were staying in a one bedroom unit, and for the benefit of future guests reading this, all our one bedroom and two bedroom units have full ovens. Studio rooms have a different kitchen layout. The external building reflects the era it was built, but inside is different, and the benefit of an older building is exactly what you say - things built years ago had bigger rooms, that was the normal. Our WIFI is fast and thank you for pointing that out. We are a 10 minute walk to the beginning of Paihia and 20minutes to the centre, again for the benefit of future guests ( smile ) It is a pleasant walk though, and when the tide is out there is a lovely beach walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Bali Hai Motel is not the Ritz but boy does it pack a punch as far as value for money, cleanliness and little extras are concerned. Barbara is a par excellence host who, as Jill of all trades, could not have done more to be helpful, warm and friendly. My husband and I stayed three for two nights with another couple and it was just perfect for us. The motel has been recently renovated and we really appreciated the new bathroom in particular. Thanks Barbara for all your efforts. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel. Helen & David, Sydney

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you Helen, you are right there is only one RITZ - and that is a beautiful place to stay. However, as you also point out, for value and service the Bali Hai is a great alternative...(smile)
Genuinely, we only want to offer good value and great service and we optimistically hope that people will see that and enjoy their stay.

When guests take time out from their busy lives, to post a positive review it means a lot.
Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Bathroom was awesome! Beds comfy but sofa/futon couch really uncomfortable to sit on. 3 persistent flies in the room all weekend and they congregated on the end of one couch - goodness only knows what attracted them. Previous guests had obviously fried their food and the smell really lingered despite liberal spraying of bathroom deodorant. Long way to the waterfront so a car is essential. Sea glimpse if you craned your neck. Unusual parking under the units. BBQ facilities looked very good, with nice seating and sunshades. $280 per night - guess we got what we paid for but I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

HI Carol

Thank you for your review. I have contacted you(via TA) for you to tell me which room and what dates you stayed, as cannot tell from your Trip Advisor posting who you are.

We do not have any rooms at $280 per night, so this is not helping me find your booking either.

I do take your points seriously, and we do all possible to ensure that rooms are fresh and clean
for all guest arrivals. We are 1.5km from the centre of Paihia and 1km from the beginning of town, all views on our website are true and I can only assume the tide was out when you looked
at the view? Our parking is underneath each unit and covered.

I have not noticed any flies in any rooms and our rooms are all pre-treated so bugs do not survive if they enter. I am disappointed that these issues were not raised with me during your stay. These are the types of things we can address if we are told. I look forward to hearing from you if you have are able to respond to my direct email to you. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Best regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Bali Hai and explored the Bay of Islands (BOI) from this base. We enjoyed returning from our adventures to our room with the fantastic views. We cooked in 2 nights and watched DVDs from the excellent library. We had all the cooking utensils and small appliances that we needed. Barbara, the manager, was very eager to make our vacation memorable, and she succeeded by booking the BOI cruise and making excellent restaurant recommendations. The Bali Hai is located a bit out of town which meant either walking about 15 minutes or driving. I do believe that the Bali Hai's location is preferable to comparable motels in town which are right next to the busy coastal road.

We enjoyed golfing at the friendly Waitangi Golf Course just outside of Paihia. Reasonable price for green fees and rentals. The views would make Pebble Beach jealous.

Room Tip: We asked for unit 9 which is an end unit with views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you, it is great to read a positive review, we take our role seriously and want our guests to be happy and satisfied. I am glad that everything went well for you during your 4 night visit with us. Best wishes
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent 3 days here January 2014 with my wife and 5 year old daughter. Barbara the owner is fantastic, very friendly, nothing is too much trouble for her. Rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. Lots of nice little touches like bbqs guest can use and a dvd library, washing machine etc. Very good location not in the centre of Paihia so quiet at night. We stayed in quite a few motels during our 3 weeks and Bali Hai was definitely the best, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Steve
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is important to us that we maintain guest satisfaction for each and every person that stays. I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts.
Best wishes
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The lovely motel have clean rooms & completed facilities. The host is so kind and considerate. During our 4 nights stay, Barbara gave us great helps both in trip & daily life. We really enjoy our holiday @ Paihia!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy_Ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Xièxiè Candy
I appreciate you taking the time to place a review. I am glad that you and your family had a lovely
visit with us and that you had a great holiday. Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I was really pleased with Bali Hai. Barbara was friendly, and helpful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that had a kitchen with an oven, so we cooked a meal one night rather than eating out again. Recycling encouraged, which is great.

I did a load of washing ($5 - had been cheaper or free in other hotels) but got to hang out our clothes on their line to dry in the sun (always preferred). Only 'complaint' was that we had to wash up our own dishes every day. This was the only place we stayed in that asked us to do this. The DVD library was great so we relaxed and watched movies in our room after a day out. Location is a short drive to main town, or a walk if you prefer. We walked, on Barbara's suggestion, from our room down around the beach to Paihia, and it was lovely. A view from balcony of beach and hillside. Saw a beautiful sunset one night. A beautiful town and a comfortable, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hello Kim
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing