We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great views”
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I visited Bali Hai with my husband end of December. Our unit had one comfortable bedroom and a living room with a very well equipped kitchen annex. When it was too hot in the sunny balcony we could sit in the backyard where each unit had a table and chairs. It is good that the motel is a little out of busy town (pleasant 15-20 minutes walk on the beach or along the road) so it was quiet at night. Barbara gave us recommendations about possible trips and restaurants in Paihia. She is a very helpful and warm person; you can tell that she loves her job and cares for her guests. We had bad luck with our Bay of Islands cruise: the boat had an engine problem, so after sometime when the crew tried their best to fix it we had to go back to Paihia and were rebooked for the next day. We were compensated for our mishap in the evening: there was the most beautiful sunset from our balcony as we celebrated the end of 2013.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ewa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you Ewa, I remember talking to you in reception and I am delighted that you have posted a review. It is rare that the boats go technical, and I am glad that a beautiful sun set, enhanced the day for you. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, Barbara was an excellent host who made us very welcome she was very knowledgable about the area and helped us with places of interest to visit, we had a two bedroom unit, the accommodation was great, it had everything you could ask for with lots of room. The video library was a lovely touch and we did make the most of it. The views from the unit was beautiful and parking underneath the unit was very handy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks Lyn, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Bali Hai. Great size room with kitchenette. Breakfast is supplied which was great as far as we were concerned. Parking underneath room very convenient. Great view. Barbara great host and extremely helpful. Took trip by boat to the Hole in the Rock and 90 mile Beach Drive by coach both well worth going on. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here (Still enjoying reading Lee Childs books have not finished them all yet!!!!!!!! hope you are still keeping up the running)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCDC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Glad you are still enjoying the books.
Best regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent three nights at this location and although older style units they are of a good size, all rooms have been recently renovated and have full size oven and being second floor with parking directly underneath have great views of the surrounding hills or in room 9 of Ophmu bay and harbour. Several BBQs out back, condiments provided, and a good range of DVDs at no charge. wifi access is very good, unlike where I'm at tonight more about that later, better than most in NZ and all topped off with a very accommodating host Barberra who was very accommodating and helpful with local knowledge. Even checked in to see how my day had gone!

Room Tip: Take room nine if free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hello Michael, thank you for your review. You were staying in a one bedroom unit, and for the benefit of future guests reading this, all our one bedroom and two bedroom units have full ovens. Studio rooms have a different kitchen layout. The external building reflects the era it was built, but inside is different, and the benefit of an older building is exactly what you say - things built years ago had bigger rooms, that was the normal. Our WIFI is fast and thank you for pointing that out. We are a 10 minute walk to the beginning of Paihia and 20minutes to the centre, again for the benefit of future guests ( smile ) It is a pleasant walk though, and when the tide is out there is a lovely beach walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Bali Hai Motel is not the Ritz but boy does it pack a punch as far as value for money, cleanliness and little extras are concerned. Barbara is a par excellence host who, as Jill of all trades, could not have done more to be helpful, warm and friendly. My husband and I stayed three for two nights with another couple and it was just perfect for us. The motel has been recently renovated and we really appreciated the new bathroom in particular. Thanks Barbara for all your efforts. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel. Helen & David, Sydney

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you Helen, you are right there is only one RITZ - and that is a beautiful place to stay. However, as you also point out, for value and service the Bali Hai is a great alternative...(smile)
Genuinely, we only want to offer good value and great service and we optimistically hope that people will see that and enjoy their stay.

When guests take time out from their busy lives, to post a positive review it means a lot.
Best wishes Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Bathroom was awesome! Beds comfy but sofa/futon couch really uncomfortable to sit on. 3 persistent flies in the room all weekend and they congregated on the end of one couch - goodness only knows what attracted them. Previous guests had obviously fried their food and the smell really lingered despite liberal spraying of bathroom deodorant. Long way to the waterfront so a car is essential. Sea glimpse if you craned your neck. Unusual parking under the units. BBQ facilities looked very good, with nice seating and sunshades. $280 per night - guess we got what we paid for but I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

HI Carol

Thank you for your review. I have contacted you(via TA) for you to tell me which room and what dates you stayed, as cannot tell from your Trip Advisor posting who you are.

We do not have any rooms at $280 per night, so this is not helping me find your booking either.

I do take your points seriously, and we do all possible to ensure that rooms are fresh and clean
for all guest arrivals. We are 1.5km from the centre of Paihia and 1km from the beginning of town, all views on our website are true and I can only assume the tide was out when you looked
at the view? Our parking is underneath each unit and covered.

I have not noticed any flies in any rooms and our rooms are all pre-treated so bugs do not survive if they enter. I am disappointed that these issues were not raised with me during your stay. These are the types of things we can address if we are told. I look forward to hearing from you if you have are able to respond to my direct email to you. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Best regards
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Bali Hai and explored the Bay of Islands (BOI) from this base. We enjoyed returning from our adventures to our room with the fantastic views. We cooked in 2 nights and watched DVDs from the excellent library. We had all the cooking utensils and small appliances that we needed. Barbara, the manager, was very eager to make our vacation memorable, and she succeeded by booking the BOI cruise and making excellent restaurant recommendations. The Bali Hai is located a bit out of town which meant either walking about 15 minutes or driving. I do believe that the Bali Hai's location is preferable to comparable motels in town which are right next to the busy coastal road.

We enjoyed golfing at the friendly Waitangi Golf Course just outside of Paihia. Reasonable price for green fees and rentals. The views would make Pebble Beach jealous.

Room Tip: We asked for unit 9 which is an end unit with views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you, it is great to read a positive review, we take our role seriously and want our guests to be happy and satisfied. I am glad that everything went well for you during your 4 night visit with us. Best wishes
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.7 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#10 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing