We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay in the Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short stay in the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Bali Hai Motel lived up to all our expectations. It was well equipped, clean and comfortable with an excellent shower and bathroom. We found the location quiet and conveniently near to Pahia.
Barbara, our hostess, was very helpful and patient especially when we managed to lock our money, passports and car keys in the safe and then not be able to open it. Thanks again Barbara.
David and Rosemary Morriss
Salisbury UK

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear David & Rosemary ~ thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that we met
your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. That is very important to me. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    94
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
110
186
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My friend and I arrived expecting to stay only one night but the welcome was so warm we ended up staying for two. What a great find .. clean, spacious and delightfully fitted out with all you would need. Balcony views and a fab BBQ if required. We drank too many bottles of wine after our days in the sun in the heavenly Northland and the hostess was delightful, helpful and charming. Thank you Barbara and Bali Hai Motel for making our few days with you as special as they were.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Aidan & Paul Thank you for such a great review. I am always delighted when people decide to stay a bit longer. Paihia deserves more than just a one night stay, and it really is the sort of place that if you spend a few days - (at the Bali Hai of course) you really do feel that you
have slowed down the pace and can just relax. Future guests reading reviews, do think about more than one night, wherever you might decide to stay:) Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a three night stay in one of the studios and considered the accommodation to be very good value for money.
The rooms are large and airy with more than adequate kitchen facilities and the bathroom had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. All rooms have a private balcony with a spectacular view to the west of Paihia - see photos. Other welcome touches include a garaged parking space (which kept the car cool), free wi-fi and laundry facilities (for a small charge) with lots of outdoor drying space.
Barbara is a fabulous host who was both welcoming and knowledgeable - speak to her first if you are considering a dolphin watch trip. The jug of fresh milk brought to our room after a 4 hour drive from Auckland was delightful.
We liked the location too which is a 5 to 10 minute walk from the waterfront so slightly away from the bustle of the town.
Thank you for what was a great start to our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Great Pun, Richard...thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope that you and Blair continued to have a lovely stay in NZ and that the visit to parents went well. I had not considered the undercover parking would keep cars cool, but you are right it would. I hope the journey home went well and hope to see you both on your next visit to Paihia. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in a lovely studio with wonderful views over Te Haumi beach and countryside. Barbara was a wonderful host, who on arrival gave us a map of Paihia,information on where the supermarkets were, where to park and some places to eat. She also provided us with milk and free wifi. There was also a fridge on the back terrace area with butter, sauces, jam,etc etc for people to use free of charge. Nothing was too much trouble, as she even called the kayaking company for us and arranged to pay our toll for the tunnel, on the internet. The studio was very clean and well kept, and we did spend more time than planned in there due to the weather, catching the edge of cyclone Lusi! If was nice to be in somewhere we could make our own food and relax in the evenings. Would definitely recommend you stay here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you - Kathryn what a lovely review. It is great when people see the little things as adding value.We do try to make people feel that their stay and their time at the motel is special. The wharf is still having a few repairs done in town, after Cyclone Lusi, but thankfully the beaches are starting to look pristine again. ( a lot of seaweed and debris removed ) Best wishes to you both. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I visited Bali Hai with my husband end of December. Our unit had one comfortable bedroom and a living room with a very well equipped kitchen annex. When it was too hot in the sunny balcony we could sit in the backyard where each unit had a table and chairs. It is good that the motel is a little out of busy town (pleasant 15-20 minutes walk on the beach or along the road) so it was quiet at night. Barbara gave us recommendations about possible trips and restaurants in Paihia. She is a very helpful and warm person; you can tell that she loves her job and cares for her guests. We had bad luck with our Bay of Islands cruise: the boat had an engine problem, so after sometime when the crew tried their best to fix it we had to go back to Paihia and were rebooked for the next day. We were compensated for our mishap in the evening: there was the most beautiful sunset from our balcony as we celebrated the end of 2013.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you Ewa, I remember talking to you in reception and I am delighted that you have posted a review. It is rare that the boats go technical, and I am glad that a beautiful sun set, enhanced the day for you. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, Barbara was an excellent host who made us very welcome she was very knowledgable about the area and helped us with places of interest to visit, we had a two bedroom unit, the accommodation was great, it had everything you could ask for with lots of room. The video library was a lovely touch and we did make the most of it. The views from the unit was beautiful and parking underneath the unit was very handy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks Lyn, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Bali Hai. Great size room with kitchenette. Breakfast is supplied which was great as far as we were concerned. Parking underneath room very convenient. Great view. Barbara great host and extremely helpful. Took trip by boat to the Hole in the Rock and 90 mile Beach Drive by coach both well worth going on. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here (Still enjoying reading Lee Childs books have not finished them all yet!!!!!!!! hope you are still keeping up the running)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Glad you are still enjoying the books.
Best regards
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing