We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

There are quite a few places in bay of islands to choose from & we found this motel was well priced, clean & the rooms had everything you would need. Great beds to sleep in, the staff where helpful & friendly + we had use of the bikes which were in great order. It's a short walk to restaurants & the wharf from the admirals.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    72
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
167
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were able to get a booking when we arrived in Paihia. The caretaker was very helpful. The place worked out perfectly for us, it had a walk in shower, a microwave, a fridge, WIFI, a TV. We stayed 2 nights and they changed the linen. It is a handy jumping off spot for Russell and the bay of islands and the Waitangi treaty signing grounds.

Room Tip: There are upstairs and downstairs suites. I use a cane or a walker and so need rooms with no stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was a pleasure having you to stay and glad we could accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigellachie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2014. Could not fault service or room . Free wifi great when we had a wet day to catch up with emails etc. Location fine for centre and restaurants pubs and attractions. Would happily stay here again if back in Paihia . Would recommend walking to Waitangi it's a good walk but enjoyable. Only put 4/5 for value as being Scottish we have a reputation for being tightfisted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your great review, we completely understand being Scottish you need to mark us down on value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for seven nights on our summer holiday. We were travelling with a nine month old. The rooms are very spacious so there was plenty of room for the portacot and high chair - all provided by the motel. We were a little concerned that the baby would wake other guests but were reassured by the sturdy concrete walls between suites.
Penny and Craig were fabulous hosts, were very knowledgeable and gave great advice. The motel is only a short walk from all the best sights of Paihia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan3md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, the Qualmark block was specifically built to reduce room-to-room noise and definitely makes for a quiet stay even with young children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Here for two nights. Excellent manager George. Very clean rooms well maintained. Fast free wifi. Central location. Would recommend.

Good cooking facilities, nice balcony view from our room over town to Bay of Isles.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you Peter for your kind comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our stay at the Admirals View Motel in Paihia was fantastic. The motel service is superior. A short walk to pubs, restaurants, adventure outings, and ferries. The owners are knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Top value.
George & Dee

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septicgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you George & Dee for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ex-UK now of Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We first visited Admiral View Lodge around 2002 and it has been our must stay place whenever we take a vacation in the Bay of Islands. The accommodation is first rate. We had a studio which was tastefully furnished, clean and gave a view out across the bay from the patio. The motel is off the main front, but only minutes away from it and the main shopping area. We choose to stay here because for us it has a home from home feel about it. We recomm end a stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerningguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, it's always a pleasure having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Property: Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Address: 2 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Admirals View Lodge is well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main road. Let us help you plan your trip to see the Bay of Islands and the famous Hole in the Rock. Take a bus on an exciting journey to Cape Reinga or enjoy the thrill of swimming with dolphins. Enjoy a ferry ride to Romantic Russell or soak up the history at Waitangi Treaty Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing