We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We traveled to Paihia in early February, 2014 on holiday. We stayed at Admiral's View for 2 nights. The room was on the street level in the middle. We faced the parking lot so it was a tad noisy with cars and other hotel guests.

Having said that the location of the hotel is great; not right on the main street but only 1 1/2 blocks off the main street. We had only a 5 mins walk to several places to eat and to the water. The parking is free and there were plenty of onsite parking spots.

The room was clean and big enough with a kitchen area, a small table and chairs, and a chair near the bed. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed we'd ever slept in but it was only 2 nights. The bathroom was plenty big and was supplied with toiletries. The odd thing was the entry to the room was a sliding glass door which opened right to the parking lot. The drapes had to be kept drawn or else you were looking at everyone coming and going and they the same at us. The wi-fi was free and it worked. That's always a plus!

The couple who ran the place (Craig and Penny) were very nice and quite welcoming. They booked us a "Hole in the Rock" boat tour and explained that the trip through the rock may or may not happen depending on the waves so we knew what to expect. They answered all of our touristy questions and shared some of their experiences, as well.

I would definitely stay here again but book an upper level room. And, I'll take Craig up on the offer of that glass of milk!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited over Easter break and were greeted with a wonderful smile and warm welcome after a long drive from Auckland. We we given an upgrade which was fabulous. Beautiful views, lovely walk into town (not too far - 5mins max) and great place to stay! We'll be back and would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The property is very clean and ideally situated within walking distance to attractions and restaurants. The manager, Craig is very pleasant and couldn't be more helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: there are only 11 rooms and while all are good, the ones one the top floor have a balcony and a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our room was clean, spacious, and stocked with everything we needed to make our own meals, we had great plunger coffee provided every day, The water pressure in the showers was awesome, plenty of hot water to fill the giant Jacuzzi in the bathroom, and a TV that wirelessly connected to our laptop. The staff was friendly and helpful, and very warm and welcoming. We had access to good bikes, tennis courts across the street, and a pool next door. Every day when we went out for activities our room was totally cleaned, dishes, bed made, linins and towels replaced, and hot drinks re stocked. My missus and I had a wonderful time, couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: Our room was the King suite or something like that, but It was the most expensive one, but all the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd-Kunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for a night in March. We were travelling as two couples and called in on the off chance of two rooms. Craig is great, he sorted our needs and even got into light hearted banter with our group. The motel is really very good, we had the pair garden rooms at the front of reception. Very comfortable bed, practical kitchen and nice shower room all very clean throughout. Craig gave us a couple of locations to visit in Russell and Pahia and they were spot on. Give it a go, its a very welcoming place and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had spent a couple of days in Auckland then headed to Paihia for 3 days of a month long holiday of the North and South Islands. We had booked approx. 6 months before travelling as we were told February is the most popular holiday month of the year. We were greeted by a very friendly gentleman, I think Pel, he was very helpful. We had booked a one bed and were given 2 bed. The rooms were clean, great kitchen, and lovely comfortable bed. The balcony had a beautiful view over the Bay. We were within walking distance of main thoroughfare and beach. Sadly the weather was terrible, we had booked a boat trip through the manager out to "the hole in the rock" but the weather on the water was pretty wild so he kindly cancelled our trip, no problems. We did decide on our last day to take a ferry trip to Russell Island, the water was pretty rough but worth the trip. You worry sometimes when you book accommodation on line but I would recommend Admirals View to anyone. Great accommodation!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A great stay in such a beautiful place. Very convenient for walking to the town area and bay. The manager, Craig, was extremely helpful and helped with booking trips. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 248Gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Address: 2 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £62 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Admirals View Lodge, Paihia Motel accommodation with beautiful sea views Admirals View Lodge & Motel offers a range of quality self-contained accommodation in Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Relax in our peaceful accommodation in central Paihia – enjoy the sunny terraces with beautiful sea views overlooking the stunning Bay of Islands (from most units). Park your car and meander along to the beach, restaurants and cafes from your luxurious Paihia accommodation. Admirals View Lodge is a Paihia motel well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main roads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing