We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful spot that combined NZ history and intersting Maori performance”

Waitangi Treaty Grounds
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.80*
and up
Waitangi Treaty Grounds Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waitangi Treaty Grounds, New Zealand's most important historic site, is where the Treaty of Waitangi was signed between the British Crown and the indigenous Maori in February 1840. Set on a stunning site overlooking the Bay of Islands, Waitangi is an absolute must-see for all visitors to the North, international and New Zealanders alike. Attractions include the historic Treaty House, a giant flagstaff, a unique fully carved Maori meeting house and the the world's largest single-hulled canoe (waka). Guided tours and cultural performances run at regular intervals throughout the day. Open daily except Christmas.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a beautiful spot that combined NZ history and intersting Maori performance”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I love this little spot. The view on the water and the town of Russell is amazing. The Maori guide was a very funny young person. He gave us lots of information about the history that brought English settlers and Maori people together in his funny expression. Also the Maori performance gave the tourists a general feeling on the Maori's traditions. I would really love them to allow videos during the performance as some other performance allow that.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lily0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,491
    894
    169
    37
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nobody told us it was free for Kiwis!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We actually had a lovely day out here but having read some of the reviews I discover that it should have been free for my Kiwi husband to get in but nobody told us so we paid for him.

I would have liked to hear and understand more about what happened after the treaty was signed and how it all broke down. How the flagpole was chopped down several time by the Maori king Hone Heke. That bit was all glossed over.

The gardens were beautiful even in the spring rain.

A beautiful place but I'm left feeling a bit ripped off.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank angels1five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“New Zealand History Lesson”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Excellent half day tour of the site where the Maori people and the British signed their peace treaty that opened the way for the indigineous people and sellters to live together in harmony.
A very Informative guide and a most interesting visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank peterthepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We took the time to travel to the Treaty Grounds from Whangarei, and we're so glad we did. Not only are the grounds beautiful, but the quality of the tour and the guide's information and enthusiasm made the experience come alive. Then we saw the Maori cultural show, and were really wowed by that. It included music, dance, and a welcoming ceremony, all held within the meeting house, which was built for the Centennial in 1940, so the atmosphere was a huge plus. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They answered questions and posed for photos and made the experience fun and educational--a wonderful combination!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank twofortonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scenic & Informative”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We really enjoyed the visitor centre and the peaceful grounds (and bird life) as we wandered around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MacnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waitangi Treaty Grounds also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waitangi Treaty Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing