We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A terrific place to stay, we stayed for 4 nights. Great location with easy walk to shops, restaurants and wharf for cruises and ferry transport. The accommodation was spacious, clean and very modern. Motel is only just over a year old. Our room had a balcony and great bay views, windows in the living area are large to enjoy the views. Cooking facilities are excellent, and bathroom large, bed was a king size. Would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Kerry R

Many thanks for your high recommendation of our motel and for sharing your experience.

Always great for fellow travellers to read just how ideal our location is, with the breathtaking views of the Bay and a stroll to our town and wharf.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    122
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
100
403
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two lovely nights at the Breakwater Hotel. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Ken & Lyn were extremely helpful and welcoming. Only problem was that we were not there long enough !! We would highly recommend Breakwater to any travelers wishing to spend time at the most beautiful Paihia and Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Rita S

Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel.

You reitterate what most of our guests say - that they did not stay here long enough. There is an abundance to SEE and DO in the Bay of Islands and also a great place to just RELAX for a few days at the end of your tour around the country.

So we look forwarding to seeing you next time for a longer stay!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

great hotel-great location-friendly people-great advice on what to do-lovely view. we would certainly stay there again. Good cooking facilities also. easy access to boats for tours and to get to Russell.

Room Tip: get a sea view room-great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieandmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi James & Annette C

Great concise review of Breakwater - thank you so much!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Breakwater Hotel with a group of seven friends and had booked three rooms.
All our rooms were very spacious and clean with the Hotel been completely refurbished in June 2012.
Our hosts Ken and Lyn were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one, as I'm sure we tripled their recycling intake during our stay. The hotel also has free wifi, over 50 channels with Austar and is only a two minute walk to the centre of town.
I will bring the wife next time as I'm sure the other six will too. Thanks Guys

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Darren K

Such a pleasure to host you guys! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and problem about the recycling - fishing is a very thirsty occupation!

Look forward to seeing you all again together with your ladies.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Breakwater Hotel with my family who were visiting from the UK. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped with lovely views. The motel is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Paihia. The service was great and I was suprised with a bottle of wine as a birthday gift which I was really touched by. They also helped to organise the fishing trip for the boys the folowing day and book our restaurant for that evening. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephmacmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Stephmcmillan

Many thanks for the fabulous review and delighted that you enjoyed our modern Waterfront suites that share that extra special view of the ocean.

Such a pleasure to assist with recommendations and bookings for the activities etc offered in the area thereby ensuring our guests maximize their time in Paihia.

Hopefully one day we will host the Scottish gathering once more!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had decided to wind-up our New Zealand holiday at Paihia in the Bay of Islands without knowing where to stay. On the road we met a couple of fellow travellers who highly recommended the Breakwater and further research confirmed their view. Arriving one day early, we dropped in to see if we could get another night. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Confirming local bookings, providing towels for our day sailing and a room upgrade, we were thoroughly impressed with the service and hospitality. The room was clean, well equipped and had an amazing view. The perfect location to relax and/ or launch into the variety of local attractions and dining venues. Just a short stroll to restaurants, pier. Free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are definitely worth considering. TV in both lounge area and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Paul N

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Paihia. Word of mouth is certainly the best marketing tool so thanks to the past guests who recommended us and to you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Absolutely Superb. All the way from the Scottish Highlands for an 'Autumn Break' with our family and to be met with hospitality second to none from Sue & Ken. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing and I mean nothing was too much for these hosts. Fishing trip - arranged, evening meals- booked, free wifi, super comfortable accommodation, all our needs catered for in this beautiful town in the far north. Five stars without a shadow of doubt.
PS - thanks for the unexpected and touching gift for Steph's birthday

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Murdo428

We are absolutely delighted that you and your family had a memorable stay at Breakwater Motel. What a pleasure to host a family gathering and thank you so much for sharing your experience. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

We hope that we can welcome to you back to the Southern Hemisphere again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing