We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
nz
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We picked the motel based on the previous reviews from trip advisor and we were not disappointed.
We booked two rooms, one with views to the ocean, while the other one had only partial views. Both rooms were excellent, although the room on the waterfront is probably more suitable for a couple rather than a family. The rooms were clean and well equiped. The view from our room of the ocean was lovely. Very helpful and friendly staff. We had a lovely stay in Paihia and the stay at Breakwater motel was definitely a contributing factor.
Would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Aprilnz, thanks for the lovely review. Trip advisor is well read and it must be pleasing for the guests to see the reviewers before them had if right.
Thanks for choosing Breakwater Motel to stay in while in Paihia and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    124
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
103
420
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Breakwater Motel. The room was very clean and comfortable, great views over the Bay, and the service was impeccable. Very friendly staff made us feel welcome, so we will definitely choose the Breakwater Motel again if we come back to Paihia.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Wim, thanks for taking the time to review our lovely Motel. We do take pride in the service we offer to our guests and is great to hear it is appreciated.
Please come back and enjoy the location and service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Austalia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in an upstairs unit directly across from the ocean. The room was modern and comfortable and the motel is an easy 5 minute walk into town where there are a variety of dining options. Hosts were wonderful and even arranged a discount on a hole in the rock cruise when booked through their office. Car parking is on-site. Hope to come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seniors Discount (if applicable) and book a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Bill, thanks for the wonderfull review. As location is everything when you stay in a Motel this one sure has that. The view is to die for and to have a view from 21 Suites is sure great for us as well as the guests. It is apprecated by our guests that the car parks are free and most handy to the Suites. Thanks again for the nice comments and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great views, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, everything worked very well for us. We chose it for views and we were not disappointed. An easy walk to the jetty for cruises (we booked at motel reception and were given a discount on one of them) and a easy walk into town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Chris, thanks for the time taken to review our Motel.
We are the closest Motel, to town and activities, with the best views and it is great to see everyone reiterate the facts.
It is nice to be able to pass on the discounts on some activities as we are allocated.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again`in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Breakwater for the weekend, the welcome was warm and friendly which started off the whole experience really well. The room was modern and clean even though this motel has been here for some time the room was very up to date with decor and furnishings which made the whole stay very very enjoyable. We will definitely be back to stay at the Breakwater, the proximity to Paihia township, the beach and the ferry to Russell makes this motel very appealing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Brett, thanks for taking the time to review our modern newly furbished Motel.
You said it all and we thank you for that. We have hand picked cleaners who take a pride in their work which helps give our Guests the experience they deserve.
Thanks for staying at Breakwater and we would love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We chose the Breakewater for its location, in front of the seaside but far from the cheap motels concentration at the entrance of Paihia. The location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from the cruise harbour. The staff was very friendly and we could even negotiate the price a little :) But the best thing are the views from the suites, awesome. The rooms are newly furbished with good taste. Complete kitchenette and satellite TV. Perfect for enjoyng your stay at Bay of Islands!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Miriam, thanks for the glowing review. Our location is an asset and enjoyed by all our guests and as you say away from the cheap end of the town. We do have wonderful friendly staff who we value highly. Thanks for staying with us and may we welcome you another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently just spent 3 nights at The Breakwater Motel. It is clean and comfortable and only a short walk to the town centre. We were on a lower floor seaview room and would certainly have been able to see the bay and enjoy our deck, but the weather kept us indoors for most of the time.
The unit was everything we needed with a separate bedroom, kitchenette; sky TV ; aircon/heating and free wi-fi.
We would definitely recommend this property for a visit to Paihia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetenDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi PetenDeb

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Lower Seaview Suite. What a pity about the weather but also a good excuse to visit the Bay of Islands again to really appreciate the beauty of the area.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing