We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great staff, no elevator, bit of a walk to the nice sand beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff, no elevator, bit of a walk to the nice sand beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Breakwater motel was the last hotel before the point, so it was quite and nicely secluded while still accessible.

Pros were that the staff was very nice and helpful, the rooms were big and modern, free wi-fi (but limited data usage), the view was beautiful, and it was close to the shops and restaurants. Our room was secluded to the north end of the hotel.
Cons.. at least for our room (15).. were that there was no elevator, up a steep hill, the parking for that particular room was nowhere near the room itself, the beach just in front of the hotel is all shells and rocks and is stinky (can’t smell from the hotel, but it you are walking on it, it stinks). There are two TV’s but they show the same program, so to change the channel in the bedroom you have to do so from the front room TV.

If I visit here again, I would either look at a more southern and lower floor room here, or see if there is something just on the other side of the pier where the nice sand beach is located.

Room Tip: 15 is secluded at the back but parking for that room is a ways away from the room. Would choose fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbar434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi jbar434

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and glad to hear you enjoyed our quiet, modern spacious room with the spectacular ocean view.

In response to your comments about the cons. I am amused about you referring to the steep hill which in fact is only a 5 metre incline. I swim at the beach in front of the motel every day of the year and I have never encountered a smell. There is a sandy beach to the left of motel which is about a 5 minute walk away.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    122
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
101
404
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Perfect location, the place is clean and modern and very comfortable. We liked it so much we stayed an extra day! The folks that run the hotel are the best! They helped us book some activities and are sooo nice. Staying here was so much fun you will be glad you choose this place.

Room Tip: The view from the waterfront is awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Maureen L

Many thanks for your refreshing review and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

We were honoured to have hosted such enthusiastic guests and Happy New Year to you both!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had stayed in this motel twice before and really liked the location particularly the front units with a wonderful view. Now with the complete refurbishing it is superb and will be our first choice for further stopovers in this area.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the front would be hard to beat anywhere in New Zealand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squib2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Squib2013

We are thrilled to hear that not only would we be your first choice when in the area BUT you consider our Waterfront Suites could be hard to beat in New Zealand - Wow thanks!

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to hosting you again.

Happy New Year!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a one bedroom with a sea view. The place was newly remodeled in 2012 so theplace was really nice. It has a microwave, water heating pot, dryer and a nice small dining table. We usually sit in the balcony to eat breakfast so we can have the view of the bay. The sitting room was quite wonderful with 2 sofas. We were happy with the place. and won't mind going back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationeer21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Vacationeer21202

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and delighted to hear that we were better than your had expected.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Another wonderful stay at the breakwater early December. In Paihia for an ocean swim, this was a perfect location. 5 minutes to the ferry, local cafes and restaurants. Fish & chips on our deck with some friends on the Friday night was perfect. Sheltered from the evening breeze with a lovely view to the bay. Our room was clean, fresh, spacious and comfortable. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi AnnB

Many thanks for your great review of our Lower Seaview Suites. Good to hear you enjoyed the wooden deck with the table and chairs outside your unit.

Happy New Year and good luck with your swimming training!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the space, views and quality of the room in the Breakwater Motel. We stayed only the one night but we could not have asked for anything more. A short drive to the Waitangi Treaty grounds and a short walk into town and to the ferry to Russell. Free wifi was definitely a plus in this motel. Quiet and comfortable bed. More than meets the eye.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you are overlooking the car park, as long as you are on the top floor you will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi KHughes86

Wonderful review of our spacious Upper Seaview Suites - thank you. Glad you appreciated our comfortable bed as we recently upgraded all our beds. Yes we are certainly more than meets the eye - don't judge a book by it's cover!

Happy New Year to you.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This a lovely, newly renovated motel, with great views and at a quiet end to the town, but only 5 - 10 minutes walk in to the lovely restaurants and shops. Ken and Lyn are very friendly and helpful. The units we had was clean and spacious with good facilities. Only one small niggle was the TV on the bedroom wall was easy to knock into as the space between the wall and the end of the bed was limited.

Overall a great place to stay in a very good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Kimr96

Yes as the saying goes its LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION and we have certainly got it!

Appreciate your review.

Happy New Year!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing