We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“|Brilliant in all respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“|Brilliant in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Location, Quality of accommodation , Cleanliness... we couldn't fault it . We were lucky enough to stay in the Breakwater motel for 5 nights and were thoroughly impressed with the helpfullness of the owners Ken and Lynn. They take great pride in their delightful property and rightly so. It was immaculate throughout and the rooms were really well equipped with all modern amenities.We had a fantastic time in the Bay of Islands and would highly recommend this motel as the place to stay.
Jim and Karen

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jim and Karen

Many thanks for your tremendous review. Yes we are certainly very passionate about our motel as we want to ensure that every guest has the most memorable stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and you certainly did what most guests wished they had done - stayed for 5 days as there is so much to see and do in the Bay of Islands aka Paradise!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    120
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
99
395
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location is simply fantastic and the view from our balcony was just overwhelming. My wife and me had nothing to complain about. The rooms were excellent and very good equipped. When choosing this motel via internet we already thought it must be excellent but reality was even better than what we read about it. The owners were very helpful and friendly.I can only fully recommend this excellent motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volker_elena_mikesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi volker_elena_mikesch

Thank you so much for the fabulous review and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We we looking for a water view room, and didn't have a reservation. Found the breakwater after seeing several other properties. Although the rooms are smaller than some others, there is a separate living area with couch and comfy chairs ( where I'm writing this), a small kitchen, a large bathroom, and a queen bed in the bedroom. Both the bedroom and living room have awesome water views, and for only $225, I think is quite a value. Just a couple steps away from restaurants and the main part of town. The managers were really helpful in Booking activities. There is no pool, but I think there is a hot top. And the internet is free, but only to a certain extent (200mb).. But overall,a great way to end our holiday in this comfortable, clean and new property ( by the way, it is right in front of the Swiss resort, so has better ocean views).

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hbatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear hbatter

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your last days of your holidays relaxing here in the Bay of Islands.

Yes we do have a hydrotherapy hot tub nestled under a gazebo for guests to relax in.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Popped in to this motel recently to check on availability. While doing so, the female staff member at the desk decided to tell off our child for for simply getting too close to their stick-on window Xmas decorations. What the?! Well, we said nothing, decided to leave and she then actually then shouts out after us, "that child needs to learn how to behave!" In all our time travelling the world with our VERY behaved child (whom no one has ever complained about before) we have never meet anyone so rude and aggressive towards children. Most upsetting and as a result we would never, ever return to this motel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Fenella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi to the_halletts

Thank you for your great review and we are happy to know that we gave you a great introduction to this beautiful country.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I hate staying in shabby places, especially when you've paid a pretty penny but this place is definitely not shabby. Our unit was very clean and modern with all new fittings. Lounge/dining room is large, and there is extra seating outside on the verandah. The shower is strong, and the bathroom even has a heated towel rail.

We were given tokens for 200MB wifi. The connection wasn't strong and could only be used in the dining room, perhaps because we were the end unit. That said, we didn't use all of it anyway as we were out and about in the water.

We booked and paid for a garden unit but were upgraded to a unit with water views. Beautiful views of the bay. If you book a boat trip through Ken and Lyn, you get 10% discount. I could definitely stay longer here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Lucinda S

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our modern suites and thanks for noting the great showers too!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Cleanest place we have ever stayed at! Right on the beach almost too with great views across the bay. Ken and Lyn (+265 9402 7558 although we booked via email) have renovated (2012) the motel to a very high standard. Well fitted out with a kitchenette with cooker, microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle and pots and pans plus I think underfloor heating for winter stays and aircon for hotter times. The hairdryer, iron and ironing board were appreciated too. Free 200Mb of wi-fi daily (by voucher). The on site payable laundry also was used.

Tea, coffee, etc. provided daily for our use in the kitchen and our bathroom was well supplied with necessities.

There is a hot tub on the premises too.

Maybe a light over the bathroom mirror would be useful? No room safe either but the place was very secure.

Fishing and other activities can be booked in advance for you (this was needed for us as we could not contact people directly) which was good.

The local restaurants - all within 10 minutes walk as are shops - seemed over-priced and not so good when compared with Auckland but this is a holiday resort (is that an excuse?).

Room Tip: Rooms 12, 13 and 14 have the best views....sunrise over Russell was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oncebitten2xshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi oncebitten2xshy

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such a wonderful detailed review and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for 11 nights and have not yet throughout NZ and other countries that we have travelled to found a motel that was as welcoming and accommodating as the Breakwater and the hosts Ken and Lyn. I was on my own with 5 children who also rave about this place. A tremendously clean environment with very efficient and friendly housecleaning staff. The unit was serviced daily with fresh supplies of toiletries and towels. Our bedding was changed throughout our stay. We found the unit we stayed in (lower beach view) to be spacious even with 6 of us. Especially the bathroom and kitchen. Ken and Lyn were very friendly and I thank them for passing on the contact details for the local tennis courts. I was especially touched to find one night after we returned from a long day of tiki touring that they had taken my load of washing out of the machine and put in dryer and then returned to our room. The Breakwater is located in a great location. Within walking distance to the shops, sandy beach and wharf. Having the spa was a bonus which we utilised each night and much appreciated by the children. The children didnt even mind the complex did not have a swimming pool. We stayed over the peak period 27th Dec - 7th Jan and even over this busytime fofoundit to be surprisingky quiet and exceptionally relaxing. Loved waking up to the view that greeted us each morning from our deck. Thank you Ken and Lyn we had an amazing stay and fab holiday in the far north and your wonderful motel. Lesley Oppert

Room Tip: We really liked room 22. Lower beach view room. Altho next to road we found it to be very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Lesley

Thank you so much for the magnificent and comprehensive review. What an absolute pleasure to host you and your lovely family. Glad you had a relaxing holiday and would love to welcome you all back again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing