We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Accommodation with wonderful customer service!”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation with wonderful customer service!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The perfect place to stay in Paihia! I booked this having read wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
Straight away, I received a friendly reply from Lyn at Breakwater Motel answering my request to book a Dolphin Viewing Boat trip. Then upon checking in, Lyn was wonderful, friendly and full of local knowledge.
We are a family with 3 kids (14,11 & 10 yrs) and the accomodation was perfect as we only needed 1 suite. it consisted of a well equipped modern kitchen and dining area, lounge which had a modern sofa bed and a single bed. The master bedroom had 2 beds with a lovely modern bathroom. it was all spotlessly clean and everything had been thought of. if you book a ground floor suite like we did, then you have a great outdoor patio with a large table and chairs.
my husband and the kids took advantage of the hot tub too!
I really liked the location as it is very close to the pier and in my opinion the nicer end of town but the great thing is that everything is within walking distance.
The first night we ate st Shippey's which is at the other end of the beach front - a restaurant in an old converted ship which is very popular with the locals and good value!
On our second night we ate in Al Fresco's, just past the church as you turn right out of Breakwater Motel. It was fabulous! Also, great value!
We took the ferry to Russel Island which is lovely too and full of history. Then the same company collected us from there to go on the Doplhin tour. I would highly recommend to choose Fullers Eco trip! At high season, I would book in advance if you want a morning trip.
Wish we could have stayed longer but we were staying with friends near Auckland and seeing as much as we could during our stay.
A little tip..... drive up to the forrest on your way to Paihia to see the beautiful huge trees which have several short and long hikes.
We found Bay of Islands to be one of our favourite spots.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room to have access straight out to a lovely decking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola121099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi Nicola121099

Thanks so much for your wonderful extensive review of our motel and for mentioning the local restaurants and tour operator. We are really happy that everything met your requirements and that the Bay of Islands has created a wonderful memory for your and your family.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    124
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
103
422
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a great apartment with views of the bay. Close to all amenities but away from the crowd at the same time. The apartment had everything you need and a laundrette on site. Never had time to use the hot tub but it looked clean and in good working order. Restaurants near by we're good to excellent. Staff at breakwater friendly and could not do enough for you. We had two large screen TvS with Sky. Overall excellent will defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear GBawler

We really appreciate your wonderful review and we certainly look forward to welcoming back to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Location, Quality of accommodation , Cleanliness... we couldn't fault it . We were lucky enough to stay in the Breakwater motel for 5 nights and were thoroughly impressed with the helpfullness of the owners Ken and Lynn. They take great pride in their delightful property and rightly so. It was immaculate throughout and the rooms were really well equipped with all modern amenities.We had a fantastic time in the Bay of Islands and would highly recommend this motel as the place to stay.
Jim and Karen

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jim and Karen

Many thanks for your tremendous review. Yes we are certainly very passionate about our motel as we want to ensure that every guest has the most memorable stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and you certainly did what most guests wished they had done - stayed for 5 days as there is so much to see and do in the Bay of Islands aka Paradise!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location is simply fantastic and the view from our balcony was just overwhelming. My wife and me had nothing to complain about. The rooms were excellent and very good equipped. When choosing this motel via internet we already thought it must be excellent but reality was even better than what we read about it. The owners were very helpful and friendly.I can only fully recommend this excellent motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volker_elena_mikesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi volker_elena_mikesch

Thank you so much for the fabulous review and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We we looking for a water view room, and didn't have a reservation. Found the breakwater after seeing several other properties. Although the rooms are smaller than some others, there is a separate living area with couch and comfy chairs ( where I'm writing this), a small kitchen, a large bathroom, and a queen bed in the bedroom. Both the bedroom and living room have awesome water views, and for only $225, I think is quite a value. Just a couple steps away from restaurants and the main part of town. The managers were really helpful in Booking activities. There is no pool, but I think there is a hot top. And the internet is free, but only to a certain extent (200mb).. But overall,a great way to end our holiday in this comfortable, clean and new property ( by the way, it is right in front of the Swiss resort, so has better ocean views).

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hbatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear hbatter

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your last days of your holidays relaxing here in the Bay of Islands.

Yes we do have a hydrotherapy hot tub nestled under a gazebo for guests to relax in.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Popped in to this motel recently to check on availability. While doing so, the female staff member at the desk decided to tell off our child for for simply getting too close to their stick-on window Xmas decorations. What the?! Well, we said nothing, decided to leave and she then actually then shouts out after us, "that child needs to learn how to behave!" In all our time travelling the world with our VERY behaved child (whom no one has ever complained about before) we have never meet anyone so rude and aggressive towards children. Most upsetting and as a result we would never, ever return to this motel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Fenella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi to the_halletts

Thank you for your great review and we are happy to know that we gave you a great introduction to this beautiful country.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I hate staying in shabby places, especially when you've paid a pretty penny but this place is definitely not shabby. Our unit was very clean and modern with all new fittings. Lounge/dining room is large, and there is extra seating outside on the verandah. The shower is strong, and the bathroom even has a heated towel rail.

We were given tokens for 200MB wifi. The connection wasn't strong and could only be used in the dining room, perhaps because we were the end unit. That said, we didn't use all of it anyway as we were out and about in the water.

We booked and paid for a garden unit but were upgraded to a unit with water views. Beautiful views of the bay. If you book a boat trip through Ken and Lyn, you get 10% discount. I could definitely stay longer here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Lucinda S

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our modern suites and thanks for noting the great showers too!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing