We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakwater Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
522
141
17
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
141
17
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwaterfront suiteunderfloor heatingsea viewseparate bedroomroad noisesitting roomfree wifishort walkthe waitangi treaty groundsnew zealandshops and restaurantsheat pumpthe kitchenstayed for nightsserviced dailysky tv
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found the motel when driving through. The rooms are spacious and very clean with a balcony. A great location looking out over the bay. You can walk to Waitangi from there. The owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmoanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi Valerie C

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and for your lovely comments.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

No.1 place to stay in Paihia. We had one of the excellent Waterfront suites on the top floor looking over the bay. Very spacious apartment, spotlessly clean and all topped with first class customer service from Ken & Lyn. Free Wifi was a nice extra. If we're lucky enough to return to Paihia in the future this would be top of the list when looking a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickhemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi Mickhemel

Sincere thanks for the fabulous review. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The website for the Breakwater Motel is absolutely accurate. The photographs don't lie! But what can't be known until you stay there is that everywhere is so clean, the owners and staff are so friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect.

Wifi worked well. The apartment was spacious and well appointed, with lots of cupboard space. The full kitchen had ample utensils to self cater. The laundry was very useful, although could have been open a little later (8pm is a little early to close).

The property is in easy walking distance to the pier and centre of Paihia. It's possible to forget your car keys and take coach tours to more distant places. There are many locations within 30 minutes drive that are scenic, good for shopping, interesting for exploring, fun for children, etc.

The only thing that could improve this property would be the addition of a safe.

Lyn and Ken are excellent hosts - they really understand their business.

Room Tip: Choose a Waterside Apartment - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi HilaryElizabeth

Thanks for the fabulous overview of your stay. We are both passionate about our motel and wish each and every guest to have the most memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a Waterfront Suite (top floor). Was spacious and very quiet (the only time we heard others was when they went past the door with luggage). Had a nice balcony to sit and watch the world go by at the end of the day. Lyn was very helpful in providing information on the local sights. Wifi was free and of good quality, lots of TV channels. Plenty of places to eat just a quick stroll down the road. Parking was adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Andrew M

Thank you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having taken our time travelling from Auckland along the west coast, we arrived at approximately 6pm and met Ken at check in. He was knowledgeable and helpful with travel information and dinner recommendations which we found extremely useful.

We stayed for two nights at Unit 17. While this was not exactly at waterfront, we quite liked the location at the back of the premise. By the way, I could understand why an earlier poster complained bitterly about Unit 16.

Our one-bedroom unit was comfortable, spacious and reasonably clean. Free wifi access, wide choice of tv channels, cooking facilities and heater in the bathroom were all well appreciated. One downside was that the guest laundry room was only open from 8am to 8pm. Having been out the whole day and only back to the hotel after dinner, there was no way we could get our laundry done before 8pm. Perhaps the management could consider extending the hours to 10pm instead.

With the ferry terminal and shops just a stroll away, it is super convenient yet quiet and a good place to return ti after a full day's fun in the sun. It fully justifies the good reviews in TA.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi travelbugPJ

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for your feedback on the laundry hours. We open the 12 hours a day and the reason it is closed at 8pm is to minimise noise on the property to ensure guests are not disturbed. However we do keep it open for guests on request.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews