We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Upper Deck

Upper Deck
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$0 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tea time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

There were 3 of us having morning tea here. My daughter and I shared the delicious carrot cake- I have never tasted one so good- fresh, HUGE and FULL of carrots; nuts and other lovely ingredients. The tea was hot and there was plenty of it. The waiter was friendly , courteous and attentive

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheepgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    96
    41
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love the Lamb & Kumera Pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great little cafe. We loved our lunch there today. The fish and chips were nice but the Lamb and Kumera pies were amazing and worth trying!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“odd breakfast menu combination”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We visited twice over the last week as i had 2 grabone vouchers. Great location and views. Cafe breakfast and the bacon and egg option very nice, poached eggs perfectly done on both occasions. The only odd thing i found is that some of the breakfast options had quite odd combinations ie smoked salmon omlet with cream cheese and then hollandaise sauce over the top. and one other options with olives. Other than that would recommend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Templc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ABSOLUTE WASTE OF MONEY!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a grabone voucher for our meals and we were disgusted! The fish in the fish and chips was old and not eatable. It was absolutely a waste of money. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We didnt receive our coffees until after we had finished our lunch, the coffee was horrible and cold. It is bad value for money, there was 1 piece of bread in the french toast and the filo wrap was a curry, it stated different in the menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kab49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The coffee was nice and the food is tasty and also is a plus that they are upstairs and you get a wonderful view of the wharf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matusepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Deck also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing