We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable stay !”
Review of Marlin Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Court Motel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great affordable stay !”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Me and a few friends stayed over the labour day weekend and had a great time! The one bedroom unit had everthing you needed and nice clean roomy showers.
John was very helpful with local information and places to eat.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyAklnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    28
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LaiKleevilee
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We recently had the opportunity to spend 3 nights at Marlin Court. We had a great time. Our hosts, John and Maureen were very friendly and welcoming and the unit was spotless.The bed was sooooooooooooooooo comfortable, I was very reluctant to get up each morning! The motel is located very close to Paihia central, just a 10 minute leisurely walk, along the beach if you feel so inclined. There was also a BBQ available, but personally, I am not outside cooking. We would have no second thoughts about a return visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Marlin Court Motel in Paihia rates as probably the best motel I've experienced, and I've seen a few! The unit was spotless and very comfortable, and the host and hostess were friendly and approachable, nothing was too much trouble. The location is superb too - just away from the clamour of the actual waterfront but maybe five minutes walk from a glorious beach and all the facilities of the town, which itself offers all you might need including excellent restaurants - and 'Shippey's' fish bar is a must!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Marlin Court Motel is by far the cleanest, most convenient and friendly place we've stayed at and we've done a lot of travelling in Africa, USA, Australia and New Zealand. We were very happy to have gone back 3 times Perfectly rigged out

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy Hammond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here two nights this february, travelling as a couple plus a single. The rooms were well equipped to accommodate us... A double bed and single in the lounge. Very economical, with free wifi (as most places in Paihia appear to offer). On the edge of central paihia but this didn't bother us as it was in easy walking distance (5-10 minutes walk along the beach). Close to good kayak rental and swimming!

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms have a bit of outdoor area. Upstairs room have small balcony but ours had little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very disappointing two night stay. Queen bed in two bedroom unit was terribly uncomfortable & bad roll together. Tiny for two bedroom accommodation for four adults, not 4 star compared to previous 4* accommodation we have experienced, didn't even make beds! Frypan in kitchen needed cleaning by us prior to being used as did several other kitchen utensils as they had food stuck to them. Several Daddy long legs spiders in master bedroom, no sky tv, poor normal tv reception. Says free wifi, but this is capped.... Old & tired & in need off refurbishment. Noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieACole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDavison, Owner at Marlin Court Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
We are sorry that this guest had some issues, but these could have been resolved very quickly and easily if he had spoken with the management.
More free WiFi vouchers are available, these were not requested.
While every effort is made to make the beds, it is company policy that if guests leave personal
items on the beds, they are not moved. These guests had moved the beds making it difficult to access them, they had left clothes and other items scattered all over the floor, and electrical items were concealed/hidden in the bed. A decision was made not to move anything in case something was lost or mislaid.
The bed in the other bedroom is virtually brand new, and no other complaints about it have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We found this motel to be clean and tidy with friendly staff running it. The room was a good size with plenty of space for our luggage. The price was reasonable and within walking distance of the town. We were able to book our Hole in the Rock cruise from here which was great and we received a 10% discount. We were only staying one night so didn't use the cooking facilities provided in the room. If you are looking for a Motel away from the Hubbub of the main town this would be the Motel for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.6 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ash Grove Motel
Ash Grove Motel
#26 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
0.4 mi away
Aarangi Tui Motel
Aarangi Tui Motel
#35 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Court Motel

Property: Marlin Court Motel
Address: 60 Seaview Road | P.O. Box 394, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlin Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Court Motel is probably the best motel in Paihia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Court Hotel
Marlin Court Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing