We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flight of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paihia Harbour

Paihia Harbour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.92*
and up
Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise
Ranked #3 of 39 things to do in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Flight of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a helicopter flight and it was awesome. It was a beautiful day and we flew over all the islands. The pilot was very informative and he made the trip most interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank antiquedesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    341
    63
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
520 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“beautiful waterfront town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Paihia harbor is a typical harbor town with small shops, restaurants and bars along the water. The streets are lined with wonderful and interesting stores, shops and a few galleries. The library, on one of the side streets, offers internet access available around the outside of the building - quite a site to see all the travelers trying to connect :-) The people are very friendly and welcoming but not pushy. The ferry to Russell can be boarded here and this is the starting point for catching the many site seeing cruises offered for exploring the 144 islands in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank yaflincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fuller's dolphin cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Gorgeous winter's day and flat calm but because we didn't see dolphins we were given vouchers for another trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views across the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Paihia is such a beautiful spot - wonderful situation on the Bay. We stayed in a home above the Bay and in my dreams I live there, just so I can wake up to that brilliant panoramic view each morning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hole in the Rock cruise seeing Dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Afternoon cruise around Bay of Islands for 3 hours. Boat could not go through Hole in the Rock since water too rough that day + only 1 meter clearance each side. Lots of Bottlenose Dolphins swam & dived closely around the boat which more than compensated.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Nadel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paihia Harbour also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Paihia Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing