We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stingy staff and sad rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Okay hotel. Staff was good. They told us about the extra charges beforehand. No wifi. Delivery even silverware to the room is $6. Room was clean and spacious. Location is close to the beach. Paihai is a small town. Downtown was walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DetectiveMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for your comments. Since your stay, and based on guest feedback, the hotel now has state of the art WIFI. Room service charge of $6.00 is in line with hospitality expectations, even more here due to the property being spread over 4 hectares of tropical gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

A lovely place to stay for a few nights in Paihia.

My partner and I found it to be great value for money, close to town with everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I got a Grab One deal, because the original hotel could not accommodate us, we were upgraded and asked to stay at this hotel. The receptionist was just lovely, a young Brazilian woman who made us feel more than welcome. The room was adequate, the downside is that it is not very soundproof, also the shower area is a bit small. In general if you are only coming for a weekend it is a lovely place to stay in. The a la carte menu was a bit expensive, however the buffet was great, so were the breakfasts. The waiters really work very hard at this hotel and they genuinely go out of their way to make their hosts stay memorable, nothing was too much trouble for them. Pahia is not a big place, the attractions are Haruru Falls, Waitangi as well as the Hole In The Rock (pricey). My partner and I had a fabulous time and will definitely recommend to any traveller!

Room Tip: We were given room 101 which was at the end of the unit, nobody passes the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at the hotel. You must come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

For a few days quiet time in the hustle and bustle of the RWC, this was a good place to stay. We were in on of the newer wings with a well appointed room. My only complaint no decent coffee to be had. But that is minor, if your looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, close to town, and were you'll be looked after well then you could do worse then here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looseheadSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your kind comments.
We certainly get numerous good comments in regards to the quietness of the hotel away from the township. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed for one night in early october and found this a quiet location for the often busy Bay of Islands area. Although there are hotels closer to the centre of Paihia this seemed to have everything and was only a ten minute stroll to Paihai and the ferry to beautiful Russell.

Our room had airconditioning and was well appointed, clean and large. The food was very good and the staff seemed to 'go that extra mile'. The hotel has a guest laundry, internet, pool and a nice bar/restaurant area.

As this is a large-ish complex (at least for this area) some of the rooms were abit of a walk to the reception/restaurant area but this was not as issue for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OB1ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We are pleased that the hotel allowed you to have an enjoyable stay. Next time you are over here, please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My first impression of the Scenic Hotel was a very good one. The staff that work at this hotel are delightful, they seemed genuinely happy to see us when we arrived. Throughout our stay, a high level of service and helpfulness was maintained.

The reception area, restaurant, and bar area were all tastefully decorated and happy hour drinks were reasonably priced. Our room was clean and large and had everything we needed. Although the decor is slightly outdated and bland, it wasn't musty or worn which was good. The room was not luxurious or visually stimulating but we could look past that (staying on a Grab One voucher, we were only staying at the fraction of the price).

On checking in, we pre-ordered the buffet breakfast special for the next morning. We assumed that breakfast service would end around 10:30am, and really we should have checked up on this. We arrived for breakfast at 9:45 am and we were told that breakfast was over. Rather than turning us away the restaurant staff accommodated us and we were able to have breakfast. For this reason, I give the hotel a 4 out 5. So often staff are restricted by petty rules that serve the hotel and not the customer. Scenic Hotel in the Bay of Islands is not one of those hotels; the staff will bend over backwards for customers, proving that this is no motel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your comments. We strive to give the best possible service and these comments only help us to continue this promise. Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The room was large, well equipped and comfortable. About 10 minute walk into the heart of Pahia along the beach. We were two families staying for 3 nights. The only disappointment was the price of the meals. We paid around $345 per family for 3 nights but the cost of meals in the restaurant and breakfast meant that we had to go out for dinner and buy breakfast in. There never seemed to be anyone eating in the restaurant so maybe they should consider offering a more basic menu with a suitable price to match

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your comments. The menus have since been changed to reflect both price and customers feedback. As you stayed in July, this is our quietest month of the year and it is possible that the lack of restaurant patronage reflected this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £93 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing