We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BED EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Booked my reservation through Centralr.com. Great rate find. We got in late and was offered a room upgrade to a Deluxe King Room... Thais (sorry if I misspelled your name) Duty Manager, was very lovely, She was very knowledgeable and hospitable. Even if she worked that night and also checked us out the next morning she was bubbly as.

the room was new, neat, tidy and chic. and the best part of the whole experience is the bed! I can easily get one of those mattress things on their beds! I had the best sleep in a long time in a short night. Although housekeeping knocked and woke us up at 9m in the morning. getting out of those bed is such a mission! I love it..

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go deluxe king rooms room 800 onwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for your great review. The Scenic Hotel Group has invested a significant amount of time in researching our new bedding system in our deluxe wing and I am very pleased that you have found somewhere to have a great nights sleep. Come back soon for a very relaxing time!. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

The friendly staff greeted us and allocated "one of our best" rooms. We had three nights at this hotel. The parking was excellent but we had to run along a boardwalk through rain on more than one occasion to reach our room. The room was very clean, comfortable with a wall reverse cycle air conditioner which worked hard to warm the room. The bed was a soft king size. Very good bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath. Lovely big towels but couldn't dry overnight. We ate twice in the dining room, there was almost nowhere open to eat in town pre-season, and the food was not good. The staff were very friendly. Despite being off season a few coaches came and went and the dining room was half full. The hotel is not on the water front and would probably be quieter for that during the season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. Whilst not on the waterfront, the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands gets excellent reviews for the serenity and quiteness for this reason. As the hotel is situated in lush sub tropical gardens, there is a boardwalk element, however umbrellas are provided in the guest rooms and at reeption, should the weather turn nasty. As you have mentioned, the town and the hotel is still in the preseason and therefore still fairly quiet. If you are ever in NZ again, I suggest that you come in summer and sample the great weather in the Bay of Islands. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We used a grab one deal and stayed here last weekend. The deal included breakfast, one nights stay in a superior room and a bottle of Chardonnay. Our room was actually upgraded to a deluxe room (which is just bigger) free of charge when we booked.
The room was ready on time, but one of the beds smelled odd as if the sheets had been slept in. Other than that it was great - 2 big beds, wine in the fridge, mini-bar, great shower. Breakfast was plentiful and had a choice of cooked or continental options. The menu had a vegetarian breakfast option but on the buffet it was just tomatoes, hash browns, beans - I think this is just pretty standard in NZ (veggie sausages etc are a rarity).
We had planned to eat at the restaurant on the Saturday night as it looks awesome and we were out on a long coach trip all day. When we arrived back there was a note on the bed stating the restaurant was closed due to a private function! We felt the hotel would have known this beforehand and should have mentioned it when we checked in. We were very disappointed about this as Paihia doesn't have much to offer food lovers - its all fast food and poor service we found.
On a more positive note the staff were very friendly and professional and the location of the hotel is great. We would stay again as the deal offers value for money and Paihia is a good base location to explore the Bay of Islands from.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcallycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We have investigated your linen comments, however please be assured that we change all linen for new guests. In regards to the restaurant, this actually was a last minute decision due to factors out of our control. Due to this, you would not have received anywhere to the standard of service that we pride ourselves on, and therefore we reluctantly decided to close the restaurant. Whilst not ideal, I hope that you can understand this. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After a hectic week at work trying to wrap up in time for the short weekend I decided to book 3 nights at the Scenic Hotel for my partner and myself. We were pleasantly greeted by the service staff who checked us in and provided all the information on the hotel.

We had a Deluxe King Room which is comfortable, and clean with a fully stocked minibar. The only down side to the room was that the ranch window didn’t let in too much light and the halogen ceiling lights are not bright enough to light the room comfortably.

The food (both breakfast and dinner) was very enjoyable and again the service staff were very friendly and non invasive.

If you are looking for a nice weekend break in Paihia the definitely consider the Scenic Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stitterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for posting your comments and the the positive feedback. Your comments on the lighting has been noticed. As the North Shore is only a short 3 hour journey, please come back and see us. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Scenic Hotel in May. We had a very comfortable sleep,
rooms modern, clean, staff very helpful and breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend this place to anyone going to the Bay of Islands.Very good value for money. Whilst it did not have a view of the water this did not matter as it was only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acoupledownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for taking time to posting your comment. The hotel is in the process of installing new bedding systems so that an even greater nights sleep will be had!. Look forward to hosting you if you ever come back to the Bay. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My partner and I stayed twice during Easter and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We paid $135 inc breakfast for the first night and $125 inc breakfast for the second - King room. We were not expecting much as the price was reasonably cheap, but were pleasantly surprised! The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful and the room was large, clean and comfortable. We were going to stay at another place just around the corner which was $250 for the night – no breakfast, but glad we didn’t.

Room Tip: Ensure you pay to stay in the 'new' wing of the hotel and choose a superior king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezz083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. As has been noted in many reviews, the staff are certainly an asset. we will pass your comments onto them. Looking forward to hosting you again from Auckland. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Block away from the main boulevard, large room with balcony. Stayed 2 nights and very restful. The biggest plus were the staff - very friendly and helpful. We were also allowed to leave our hire car in the car park free of charge after we checked out to go on an overnight cruise. Couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karyneb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your positive comments in regards to our staff. We will certainly pass these onto them. I too think they do a great job!. Come and see us again from Hobart, we will give you the same high service standard!. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing