We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked this at very short notice and stayed in a family room, with our 2 kids, staff were very friendly, the room was clean and modern, the swimming pool was good for our kids to have a play, good size, but the water is very cold, eventough it is summer and it was a very hot day, water still too cold, which put off my 2 year old for getting into it, appart from that, great place to stay, will go back for sure. 10 min walk to town or to beach

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsavivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate that the pool is not heated and is probably a little cool for the small ones. The water temperature in summer is around 22 - 23 degrees centigrade which can seem cold especially on hot days but otherwise quite comfortable. We look forward to seeing you back in Paihia.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    253
    77
    12
    4
See reviews for
101
344
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Staying at this hotel was a pleasure from check-in to check-out. Friendly and professional staff, first rate local fresh food, superb aged wines and a room which I would rate 5-star. Everything is well designed, spotlessly clean and in its place. Even an un-timed "Happy Hour" drink voucher. I hope to return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you foir your wonderful review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands. We are very pleased you found all our services to your satisfaction and that we could make your stay an enjoyable one! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel can not be faulted in any respect. There is unfortunately no a/c but the location is very quiet and windows can be opened. Fans are available on request. It is a little remote from the town, @ 15 min stroll. There is a fabulous Indian Restaurant called Greens.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. We do have A/C in some of our rooms and for a modest sum we can upgrade guests to these if required.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of the North Island, it was fantastic. Staff were friendly, the food was great. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were nice and clean. The hotel is one street back from the waterfront so it was very quiet and peaceful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sak06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that you found all to your satisfaction and that your stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands was enjoyable and comfortable. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Everyone staff member from check in, bar, dinner, breakfast, check out were excellent! Room was great size and bathroom (with bath and separate large shower) big. They give you a Happy Hour voucher (no set time....just turn up and for next hour you use voucher) Also if you dine in and choose 2 courses, then wine is 50% off. B/fast not included in rate but our rate of $139 (deluxe room) was great value. It is not right on the waterfront - therefore quieter and possibly cheaper....however, it is a minute walk to waterfront. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkcsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We certainly endeavour to offer a great product and service and it is great to hear we are doing this well. The team here is very pleased to read that your stay in Paihia was to your total satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future!
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at 2 different times at this hotel during an 8 week stay in NZ. The first time was at the beginning of my trip and the second at the end of my trip. The staff at the Scenic from reception, to housekeeping to maintenance, to the restaurant make you feel like a human being and not just another number. They truly care and it is felt and it shows. I highly recommend this hotel for other reasons as well. The rooms are spacious, the beds are so comfy, the bath products are addictive and the birds chirping make for a peaceful environment. It has been the best hotel experience for me in all of NZ!

Room Tip: room 101 - sunny and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Mirella - thank you for your comments after your stays with us. All the staff you encountered during your stay reckoned you were the perfect guest and enjoyed having you stay!! We all hope you will make your way back to Paihia at some stage and come visit us again.
Safe travels, Graeme Horsley, General Manager and the team at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My party of 4 seniors visited Paihia and booked the SCENIC HOTEL. The rooms were massive and the facilities were above expectation. The beds were so comfortable that it was difficult to get up the following morning to the well served, presented and large choice of food. We found that the staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. The only negative we have to state is that our stay was not long enough. We would most certainly recommend this hotel for long or short stays in Paihia or as a base for touring the Bay of Islands.
Sylvia Aston, Auckland

Room Tip: We used rooms 510 and 512 and found them very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found all to your satisfaction and we look forward to the opportunity to provide your accommodation needs on your next visit to Paihia.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing