We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bella Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Court Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
270
284
85
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
284
85
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomloved this hotelbuffet breakfastmotel styletour groupceiling fanshort walknew zealandhotel restaurantgood sizeguest laundrycentre of townlovely roomair conditioningswimming poollarge bathroomcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked this at very short notice and stayed in a family room, with our 2 kids, staff were very friendly, the room was clean and modern, the swimming pool was good for our kids to have a play, good size, but the water is very cold, eventough it is summer and it was a very hot day, water still too cold, which put off my 2 year old for getting into it, appart from that, great place to stay, will go back for sure. 10 min walk to town or to beach

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsavivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate that the pool is not heated and is probably a little cool for the small ones. The water temperature in summer is around 22 - 23 degrees centigrade which can seem cold especially on hot days but otherwise quite comfortable. We look forward to seeing you back in Paihia.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Staying at this hotel was a pleasure from check-in to check-out. Friendly and professional staff, first rate local fresh food, superb aged wines and a room which I would rate 5-star. Everything is well designed, spotlessly clean and in its place. Even an un-timed "Happy Hour" drink voucher. I hope to return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you foir your wonderful review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands. We are very pleased you found all our services to your satisfaction and that we could make your stay an enjoyable one! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel can not be faulted in any respect. There is unfortunately no a/c but the location is very quiet and windows can be opened. Fans are available on request. It is a little remote from the town, @ 15 min stroll. There is a fabulous Indian Restaurant called Greens.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for your great review of the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. We do have A/C in some of our rooms and for a modest sum we can upgrade guests to these if required.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of the North Island, it was fantastic. Staff were friendly, the food was great. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were nice and clean. The hotel is one street back from the waterfront so it was very quiet and peaceful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sak06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that you found all to your satisfaction and that your stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands was enjoyable and comfortable. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Everyone staff member from check in, bar, dinner, breakfast, check out were excellent! Room was great size and bathroom (with bath and separate large shower) big. They give you a Happy Hour voucher (no set time....just turn up and for next hour you use voucher) Also if you dine in and choose 2 courses, then wine is 50% off. B/fast not included in rate but our rate of $139 (deluxe room) was great value. It is not right on the waterfront - therefore quieter and possibly cheaper....however, it is a minute walk to waterfront. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkcsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We certainly endeavour to offer a great product and service and it is great to hear we are doing this well. The team here is very pleased to read that your stay in Paihia was to your total satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future!
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews