We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Motel style”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Our room was in a separate block from the main building and was rather like a motel room. It had parking in front and a small patio area at the back. The room was very comfortable with all amenities and just across from our room there was a small guest laundry which was very convenient. The restaurant served a buffet and it was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay. We are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Should you be back in the Bay of Islands we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    261
    82
    12
    4
See reviews for
104
353
30
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Check in was quick but as we had been upgraded & had extras (welcome drink, discounts off food & beverages & late checkout) would've been great to have them explained. We were given our room key and drinks. We were met by the porter in the carpark. The room was beautiful, clean & the room was large. The beds were super comfortable, best we've had in New Zealand. As our room was at the back it was really quiet, the birds were chirping outside but couldn't be heard in the room. The bathroom was great. Good TV with a range of channels. We visited the restaurant for breakfast, the staff were friendly & prompt to clear tables, the selection at the buffet was good. The swimming pool was refreshing. The walk into town takes about 10 minutes which isn't long as its a beautiful view along the waterfront. Would recommend staying here & hope to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are very pleased the hotel was to your liking and we appreciate your kind comments. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

On with eastern edge of town, only 10 mins walk to bars/restaurant/supermarket and 15 mins to other shops/ferries etc. Rooms are well furnished and large. Deluxe king has bath and large shower. Ask for balcony room. Restaurant is lovely although wine a bit pricey. Pool is quite small but on both days of our visit was empty in the afternoon. Reception staff are superb.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased you found the accommodation to your liking and I will pass on your comments to the staff - they will appreciate your comments. Can I clarify on your behalf that the comment about the pool relates the number of people around the poolside not the level of the water!! Some may think we drain the pool each afternoon.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our room wasn't air conditioned but it has been cool over the past few weeks. We stayed here in early March, pleasant enough, but with the word Scenic I had some ideas of views in head. Not the case, The hotel is well away from the water and has no views whatsoever. Staff were good and no complaints, just make sure you know what to expect if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands although I take your point that the hotel name does not necessarily mean that we have scenic views. By way of explanation we are part of the Scenic Hotel Group and the Scenic Hotel brand reflects the parent company name not the physical location. My apologies if you feel we had misrepresented ourselves. I am pleased however that you found all other aspects acceptable.
Regards
Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked this at very short notice and stayed in a family room, with our 2 kids, staff were very friendly, the room was clean and modern, the swimming pool was good for our kids to have a play, good size, but the water is very cold, eventough it is summer and it was a very hot day, water still too cold, which put off my 2 year old for getting into it, appart from that, great place to stay, will go back for sure. 10 min walk to town or to beach

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsavivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate that the pool is not heated and is probably a little cool for the small ones. The water temperature in summer is around 22 - 23 degrees centigrade which can seem cold especially on hot days but otherwise quite comfortable. We look forward to seeing you back in Paihia.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Staying at this hotel was a pleasure from check-in to check-out. Friendly and professional staff, first rate local fresh food, superb aged wines and a room which I would rate 5-star. Everything is well designed, spotlessly clean and in its place. Even an un-timed "Happy Hour" drink voucher. I hope to return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you foir your wonderful review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands. We are very pleased you found all our services to your satisfaction and that we could make your stay an enjoyable one! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel can not be faulted in any respect. There is unfortunately no a/c but the location is very quiet and windows can be opened. Fans are available on request. It is a little remote from the town, @ 15 min stroll. There is a fabulous Indian Restaurant called Greens.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. We do have A/C in some of our rooms and for a modest sum we can upgrade guests to these if required.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing