We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scenic by name....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

nice medium size hotel,only one block walk to seafront,a few nice restaurants,a wine shop and a general store.the lobby area and restaurant were big and bright.the staff were nice and helpful.The buffet had plenty of choice and good coffee.there was a laundryroom which costed about £3 for a washer and dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. The team here is happy you found all facets of your stay to your liking.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Couldnt get into where we normally stay so tried this hotel. Very friendly checkin. Beautiful large, spotless room.Great bathroom & excellent quality toiletries. Extremely comfortable beds and good tv with good range of channels. We were in an upstairs Garden Block room with balcony at the rear of the hotel looking onto beautifully landscaped tropical garden. Very quiet. The hotel is a 2 min walk to the waterfront (thus it's lovely and quiet) and a 7 min walk along the interesting waterfront to the main shops. The bar/restaurant decor is lovely and contemporary. My only critique is the pool area. The pool is ok but the poolside area is relatively small with only a couple of loungers and it doesnt quite have the feel of wanting to lounge around there for an extended period with a book. If this area was extended with more loungers & creating the same atmosphere and high standard as the rest of the hotel, it would make the property a complete 10 out of 10. We thoroughly enoyed out stay and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are very quiet and have a beautiful tropical garden outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands!. We are very pleased you found all facilities to your liking.I take your comments on board about the swimming pool area and will look into the possibility of expanding the seating area - we only installed the loungers at the begiining of summer so share your views on improving this area. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Paihia and the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands before too long! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Our room was in a separate block from the main building and was rather like a motel room. It had parking in front and a small patio area at the back. The room was very comfortable with all amenities and just across from our room there was a small guest laundry which was very convenient. The restaurant served a buffet and it was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobsmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay. We are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Should you be back in the Bay of Islands we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Check in was quick but as we had been upgraded & had extras (welcome drink, discounts off food & beverages & late checkout) would've been great to have them explained. We were given our room key and drinks. We were met by the porter in the carpark. The room was beautiful, clean & the room was large. The beds were super comfortable, best we've had in New Zealand. As our room was at the back it was really quiet, the birds were chirping outside but couldn't be heard in the room. The bathroom was great. Good TV with a range of channels. We visited the restaurant for breakfast, the staff were friendly & prompt to clear tables, the selection at the buffet was good. The swimming pool was refreshing. The walk into town takes about 10 minutes which isn't long as its a beautiful view along the waterfront. Would recommend staying here & hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are very pleased the hotel was to your liking and we appreciate your kind comments. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

On with eastern edge of town, only 10 mins walk to bars/restaurant/supermarket and 15 mins to other shops/ferries etc. Rooms are well furnished and large. Deluxe king has bath and large shower. Ask for balcony room. Restaurant is lovely although wine a bit pricey. Pool is quite small but on both days of our visit was empty in the afternoon. Reception staff are superb.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased you found the accommodation to your liking and I will pass on your comments to the staff - they will appreciate your comments. Can I clarify on your behalf that the comment about the pool relates the number of people around the poolside not the level of the water!! Some may think we drain the pool each afternoon.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our room wasn't air conditioned but it has been cool over the past few weeks. We stayed here in early March, pleasant enough, but with the word Scenic I had some ideas of views in head. Not the case, The hotel is well away from the water and has no views whatsoever. Staff were good and no complaints, just make sure you know what to expect if you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands although I take your point that the hotel name does not necessarily mean that we have scenic views. By way of explanation we are part of the Scenic Hotel Group and the Scenic Hotel brand reflects the parent company name not the physical location. My apologies if you feel we had misrepresented ourselves. I am pleased however that you found all other aspects acceptable.
Regards
Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked this at very short notice and stayed in a family room, with our 2 kids, staff were very friendly, the room was clean and modern, the swimming pool was good for our kids to have a play, good size, but the water is very cold, eventough it is summer and it was a very hot day, water still too cold, which put off my 2 year old for getting into it, appart from that, great place to stay, will go back for sure. 10 min walk to town or to beach

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsavivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate that the pool is not heated and is probably a little cool for the small ones. The water temperature in summer is around 22 - 23 degrees centigrade which can seem cold especially on hot days but otherwise quite comfortable. We look forward to seeing you back in Paihia.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £100 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing