We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very well presented, warmly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I hadn't prebooked this hotel and got what I think was a pretty good rate at the reception desk, so if you arrive in Paihia without accommodation, it's worth asking. They also upgraded me from a standard to a superior room, and it was lovely. Two very comfortable queen beds, very spacious room, two arm chairs, lots of luggage space. Best bit was the outlook - it opened straight onto a wilderness garden filled with trees and shrubs, with two chairs and a table to sit at. The only downside of all that greenery was the noisy birdsong in the morning! Otherwise the rooms were extremely quiet - didn't hear the neighbours at all

The room and bathroom were spotless. A couple of very minor issues - the shower cap pack was neatly placed, but when opened was empty. And the body lotion I used on the first day wasn't replaced on the second. And it would be lovely to return to a hot bath at the end of a day of touring - only having a shower is a (very minor) drawback.

The hotel is a smidgeon out of the way for accessing boat trips, shops etc, but probably quieter for that. Probably a 10 minute stroll to the centre of action.

The staff were incredibly helpful and nice to deal with.

I had a lovely stay here - was only planning to stay one night, but rapidly changed my mind when I realised how good it was. Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a superior room I think it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are happy that you enjoyed the environs of the hotel and the peaceful gardens - will have a word to the birds to keep it down in the morning though!
I have discussed the issues you had with the housekeeper so thank you for bringing those iotems to our attention. Hoping to see you back at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands sometime in the future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was spotless, and had a private garden courtyard. The gardens throughout the complex were very well maintained.
The rooms were quiet - didn't hear any noise from other guests.
Even provided a small bag to place half-used toiletry items in if you wanted to continue to enjoy them after your stay.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting of the hotel and that our amenties and staff service was to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will see you again should you travel to Paihia again in the near future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Room was clean and well appointed, service was outstanding. While not directly by the shore, it is a quiet hotel with a relaxed feel. I would agree with our guests however, no heated pool or spa pool was a disappointment. All this aside, definitely my favorite place to stay in the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PaoraHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands. We are pleased tp read that you found our rooms and service to your satisfaction. From the comments about the pool area I will be suggesting to the owners that they consider heating. We have just extended the area around the poolside and placed more sun loungers so this will be a great area for the summer ( and the pool will be warmer then too!) Regards Graeme Horsley General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed with our children (2 & 4 years) at the hotel in one of the loft rooms. Perfect - since they are seperate rooms (upstairs & downstairs) whilst still connected. The layout, furnishing and overall presentation of the room is great and combined with the well kept property has resulted in a great stay. Great value for money too. Only downside is that the property is not beachfront, but a only a 5 minute stroll to the beach and 10mins to town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjoern77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased you and your family found our amenities to your satisfaction and that the loft room suited your needs well. We hope you choose Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands again should you visit Piahia in the future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a B&B deal. We were very impressed with the experience. First rate breakfasts & an excellent dinner one night in the restaurant. Very friendly staff. The only detraction was the pool wasn't heated & no spa pool, which we expect from most hotels now. Otherwise 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands.We are pleased you enjoyed your experience while staying with us. We agree with your comments about the pool and hopefully will manage to improve this in the future.Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Support the local economy! this company is proudly New Zealand Owned and Operated!
We booked 2 rooms for 1 night, they up-graded us not once but twice! Normally when you stay at a hotel you can always find one fault without looking. This hotel has huge modern rooms, quiet A/C-Heat, huge beds that were warm and cosy and felt like sleeping in a marshmallow but without the sinking feeling in your back; I like a firm bed and yet this was perfect! A large range of different teas and coffee, fluffy large towels and a complimentary bag to take home any toiletries. Breakfast was included which was a buffet. All the hot choices were HOT! A range of breads and pastries and local jams etc and beautiful fresh fruit and juices.
Every member of the staff that we encountered were genuinely friendly, while some hotel staff have smiles permanently on their faces because it's part of their job, the staff at this hotel had warm welcoming smiles because that's how these people are naturally!
I was so impressed, and with so much more travelling yet to do in NZ I picked up the hotel booklet as I will now only stay with the Scenic hotel group.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yukkyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments after your stay with us at Scenic Hotel Bay of islands. I will pass your review around all the staff as they really do their utmost at all times to make our guests feel at home. We are very pleased you found everything to your satisfaction. Enjoy your travels in New Zealand and the rest of the Scenic Hotel Group. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have stayed in Paihia on many occasions, but this was our first time at the Scenic Hotel.
It was a special weekend deal, and excellent value including wonderful breakfasts. The quiet, spacious and clean room had the most comfortable beds ever. The bathroom had a generous supply of soap, shampoo, towels etc, and there was even an umbrella provided for the walk to the breakfast room and reception if needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased you have 'discovered' us and found our facilities and service to your satisfaction. Glad you liked our beds - they certainly make for a very comfortable sleep! We hope you choose to stay with us again on any future visits to the Bay of Islands. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £102 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing