We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, beautiful room and delicious dining in paihia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service, beautiful room and delicious dining in paihia!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at scenic for two nights in Nov and had an amazing time. The staff were warm, friendly, knowledgeable and prompt from pronoun to check out. They always had a smile and welcomed us back from wherever we had been and we felt a genuine sense of care from them all. The room was VERY clean, comfortable ans well appointed. The beauty products were luxurious abd replaced daily. Quiet and secluded, we felt truly relaxed on our room. We got fantastic local knowledge and recommendations from staff which led us to having an unforgettable holiday. The buffet breakfast we had each morning was fresh and delicious, loved how they made eggs to order! The package we purchased reflected value for money, and for what we recieved, would have happily paid more! Thanks for giving these young parents a much needed break :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. I am very pleased to read that our team, facilities and service all combined to provide you with a peaceful, comfortable and relaxing time away from the family!Hopefully we will see you back in Paihia in the near future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    257
    79
    12
    4
See reviews for
102
347
29
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you want a nice ambience you can't go wrong with Scenic Paihia. I have stayed here for work on numerous occasions and have always found it to be very friendly and welcoming. Accommodation is in different blocks. I've stayed in standard and superior rooms and they're lovely. Superior rooms are spacious, with lovely little garden patio at front of room accessed by sliding doors. Beds are comfy, bathroom spacious and you get an Eco bag to take home leftover toiletries that are abundant. Food is fine, if a little pricey. For brekky I tend to opt for a la carte but continental and full brekky is ok if you're extra hungry. Agnes is lovely as are all the staff. Only downside is 1 free hour of Internet. For a hotel that size it should be free.

Room Tip: 800-900 rooms very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review after your most recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It is gratifying to hear of guests enjoying the service and facilities over multiple stays. Thank you for your comments on Agnes - she is one of many staff who are hospitality professionals here at Scenic Hotel Bay of islands, all of whom love to deliver superior service to our guests. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Regards Graeme Horsley General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Also just got back from 2-night stay with the hotel, everything was spotless and well presented, the only frustration we had was the Wireless Internet connection. We were told by the reception whilst checking in and also displayed in the foyer, the hotel offers high-speed wireless internet free for one hour; and guests need to pay $5 - $24 for various hours selection.

- Don't think its right in the first instance for charging for using the wireless internet;

- The Internet speed is quite slow that pictures on mobile phones cannot be displayed;

- The 'hours' consumed are clock hours, rather than 'actual usage' hours, which means once it starts, it will run continuously for the designated time frame, if you decide to do something else, e.g. have a dinner, your time-frame will be wasted.

Please revise the Internet usage policy as I have signed up with your Return Rewards program and I do look forward to seeing some changes in the future if I were going to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. The internet solutions in place are a continually reviewed project and we have invested considerable time and money in establishing a good cost effective system. Prices,as you mention, range from $5 for phone, ipad etc, $10 for PC and a $20 family plan that allows up to 4 devices simultaneously. These prices are all 24 hour based. We have introduced one free hour this year for all users and the target is for completely free internet within 12 months. I will discuss the internet speed with our IT experts - thaks for bringing this to our attention. Good to see you have joined the group loyalty program - hopefully we will see more of you in the future, either in Paihia or NZ wide. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Series of large accommodation blocks with gardens between and a central reception/bar/restaurant building.
Huge rooms, very smart presentation and nicely finished. Very restful, so much so that I fell asleep and missed going out for dinner! A dash to the hotel restaurant at 8:30pm(closing at 9pm) enabled me to get a last minute order in. I ordered Steak and eggs with fries and salad($24.50), fortunately it was a small steak but cooked as requested medium/rare. An excellent meal at the last minute! As I was the only diner there the waiter asked if I needed anything more before leaving with the chef. The receptionist came in to present the bill and clear away.
Breakfast was continental, toaster worked well needing only one pass to give good colour to bread. Good variety of pastries, breads and spreads. Variety of fresh fruit and juices.
Scenic Hotels add surcharge of 1.5% for Credit Card payments

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It would seem that our signature feather beds are still doing the job and providing a superior , comfortable sleeping platform! Your comments on the food quality are appreciated and I will pass this on to the kitchen and restaurant teams. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room with 2 double beds. Everything was spottless. Although it doesn't have sea views the beach is only a couple of minutes walk away.
We had breakfast as part of our package and it was ok - but I wouldn't pay $24.50 per adult. I think you could do better in town. Hot food consisted of streaky (fatty) bacon, watery scrambled eggs, very cheap sausages, hash browns, baked beans and tomatoes. Staff were helpful and there was no issue when I asked for poached eggs. Dinner is a good deal if you are travelling with children. Buy 2 courses and the child eats for free. They provided a little note offering "happy hour" on drinks at a time suitable to guests. I had an issue - I called Auckland with a calling card and it was expensive and when I noticed it on the bill the amount was quickly taken off (even though it was my fault for not checking prices first).
Would nightly recommend this hotel - it would be great is there were a couple of bar-b-ques for quests to use, as eating out can get costly - especially if you are travelling as a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of islands. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the majority of the amenities and services we offer and I will review the breakfast buffet offerings in light of your comments - thank you. Also happy to read that the staff were quick to deal with your phone charge issues at check out. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I hadn't prebooked this hotel and got what I think was a pretty good rate at the reception desk, so if you arrive in Paihia without accommodation, it's worth asking. They also upgraded me from a standard to a superior room, and it was lovely. Two very comfortable queen beds, very spacious room, two arm chairs, lots of luggage space. Best bit was the outlook - it opened straight onto a wilderness garden filled with trees and shrubs, with two chairs and a table to sit at. The only downside of all that greenery was the noisy birdsong in the morning! Otherwise the rooms were extremely quiet - didn't hear the neighbours at all

The room and bathroom were spotless. A couple of very minor issues - the shower cap pack was neatly placed, but when opened was empty. And the body lotion I used on the first day wasn't replaced on the second. And it would be lovely to return to a hot bath at the end of a day of touring - only having a shower is a (very minor) drawback.

The hotel is a smidgeon out of the way for accessing boat trips, shops etc, but probably quieter for that. Probably a 10 minute stroll to the centre of action.

The staff were incredibly helpful and nice to deal with.

I had a lovely stay here - was only planning to stay one night, but rapidly changed my mind when I realised how good it was. Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a superior room I think it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are happy that you enjoyed the environs of the hotel and the peaceful gardens - will have a word to the birds to keep it down in the morning though!
I have discussed the issues you had with the housekeeper so thank you for bringing those iotems to our attention. Hoping to see you back at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands sometime in the future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was spotless, and had a private garden courtyard. The gardens throughout the complex were very well maintained.
The rooms were quiet - didn't hear any noise from other guests.
Even provided a small bag to place half-used toiletry items in if you wanted to continue to enjoy them after your stay.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting of the hotel and that our amenties and staff service was to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will see you again should you travel to Paihia again in the near future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing