We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family orientated hotel near to Paihia centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family orientated hotel near to Paihia centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good location - apprx 5/10min walk along the waterfront to Paihia centre. Staff were lovely - not too many Kiwi voices!? Hotel looks welcoming from the outside. Quiet a large premises with various blocks of rooms. Parking first come first serve but overflow carparks nearby onsite. Had a standard room for first 2 nights. Very small and dark. No area to sit and relax outside as standard rooms dont have balcony. Chairs outside front door however if you fancy chatting to the neighbours. Nice high wooden ceiling which i liked! SKY movies on all TV's if you just want to mooch around. Bed was very soft but comfortable! Last night paid for a deluxe room upstairs. Nice and big room! Again dark cream colour walls making it comfy at night but dark during summer days. Would have loved a bath in room! Ordered room service once - very nice. Didnt eat onsite in restaurant. Swimming pool is small with deep end. Only 6/7 loungers which fill up quickly with families. Not heated. Always busy with kids so hard to get a few laps in should you wish! Also if your travelling solo you cant swim alone in pool as per signage...take it or leave it! Overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor.Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    249
    76
    12
    3
See reviews for
99
338
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in room 702 with spouse and teenager. Loved it. Couldn't fault the accommodation. Loved that it gave us a little privacy and was incredibly surprised at how quiet it was. We didn't take up the breakfast or eat at the hotel but we were offered the $18 discount voucher for breakfast - which was nice. Couldn't fault the staff - the service was excellent. We did use the pool which was nice also. It's a bit of a walk to Paihia shops but then it was nice to be away from the hubbub a bit too.

Room Tip: Room 702 was good for privacy and some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Tripadvisor. We are proud of the effort our staff put in to making your stay a memorable one with us. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in Scenic hotel for 2 nights in room 813. I've mentioned the room number as I'm not sure if all rooms have the same facilities and quality or not.
Our room was very clean and equipped with everything you would need in a hotel room.
Bathroom was clean, big enough and well designed (no splash of water, separated spaces,...)
Minibar had a variety of drinks at a reasonable price. Also there was a comprehensive set of different types of Coffee (3 types), Tea (2 types) and drinking chocolate for free.
Room service was good, reception team was perfect, helpful and welcoming.
Parking space was exactly behind our building which made it easy to access the car. (no noise from the parking by the way)
Location was good, not in the middle of city center but very close to all the fun and restaurants. (within 5 to 15 minute walking distance)
If you are staying in this hotel, check out the nearby restaurant "Alfresco" as well.
I loved this hotel in general.

Room Tip: Second floor would be good if you want to sit in the balcony. There's no lift available, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for placing the very kind comments on Tripadvisor. The Scenic Hotel Group is proud of its hotels and comments like your's endorse the effort they put in to staff training and refurbishment of the rooms. You also state it's great location to town and it is only a 5 minute drive to Waitangi as well. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights doing the Bay of Islands regatta. The hotel is used to an invasion of sailors and they looked after us really well. The staff is friendly and helpful. They made me a special packed lunch every day meeting my dietary requirements (for a price, mind you!).
The room was spacious, with very comfortable beds. Nice towels and products in the bathroom.
The location is excellent, you are five a minutes' walk away from the restaurants on the waterfront.

The only negative for me was the overcooked scrambled eggs at breakfast. The buffet breakfast is $24.50 and for that price you expect fresher eggs and bacon, and better quality coffee.
All in all, I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pourquoipas6021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor.It is always a pleasure to help guests with special requests. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

And upgraded to a Deluxe room. Given it was peak season the pricing was great and the room absolutely superb. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely as it was our wedding anniversary there was even a card welcoming us on the day. My only comment would be to "lift" the wine list a little as it was a bit underdone. The meal was very well priced. Overall a lovely stay with great service.
My only complaint is the charge for paying by Credit Card. However, given the price and it was only 1.5% it was a minor glitch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor. I will take into consideration your comments regarding the wine when I next do the wine list. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The room was large and spacious, clean and the breakfasts were good value. Great poached eggs.
The safe was free and I foolishly left our passports, some money and credit cards behind which we did not discover until we reached rotorua- a 8-10 hour journey. Antionette handled the situation brilliantly and posted the items on to the Taupo hotel the next day. Really lovely and helpful staff and easily found on the way in to the town centre. Thoroughly recommended for a stay in the northern part of NZ.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveRats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to help a guest with a small problem. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

After spending a few day traveling around NZ and ending up at the hotel was a great change from the other hotels I have stayed at.

The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and the little things like each morning having a message under your door with the days weather forecast was great. It was just the little things that they did that your were not expecting was what made this the best hotel i stayed at.

The rooms were big for a family of four.

The restaurant has excellent food and was priced at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Go the upgrade to a bigger room for a few dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russellandmyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and hotel. We are extremely proud to work at this property and comments like your's make it all worth while. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing