We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“clean & interesting”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

great little stay thank you. All staff so friendly, rooms spotless, great variety of rooms and styles.
Restaurant lacks a little character. Happy hour voucher with every room.
thoroughly recommended for overnight

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place your comments in Tripadvisor. We are proud of the effort the staff put in to make your stay an enjoyable one. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    259
    80
    12
    4
See reviews for
104
352
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Good accommodation where hotels are limited. The hotel is split across multiple structures probably due to historical ownership.

The best room type is the Superior Deluxe, where I believe its the only room with air con (important in summer!). We experienced 3 different room types due to the daily deals we purchased.

Friendly reception and nice staff.

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe if you want air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your commentson Tripadvisor As you state, we have a range of accomodation packages.With the hotel situated within walking distance from town and a couple of minutes drive from Waitangi it is ideally placed to meet most peoples needs. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Overall have to rate this place highly. Our Family room was in the corner of two blocks so a bit dark as lacked natural light. No outside area to sit aside from the paved area outside the room. However the service was really very good; from checkin to checkout all staff were helpful, courteous and friendly. Facilities including restaurant and pool of a good standard. Short stroll to the action in the Paihia shops and wharf area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say, the hotel is located within walking distance to town and is only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good location - apprx 5/10min walk along the waterfront to Paihia centre. Staff were lovely - not too many Kiwi voices!? Hotel looks welcoming from the outside. Quiet a large premises with various blocks of rooms. Parking first come first serve but overflow carparks nearby onsite. Had a standard room for first 2 nights. Very small and dark. No area to sit and relax outside as standard rooms dont have balcony. Chairs outside front door however if you fancy chatting to the neighbours. Nice high wooden ceiling which i liked! SKY movies on all TV's if you just want to mooch around. Bed was very soft but comfortable! Last night paid for a deluxe room upstairs. Nice and big room! Again dark cream colour walls making it comfy at night but dark during summer days. Would have loved a bath in room! Ordered room service once - very nice. Didnt eat onsite in restaurant. Swimming pool is small with deep end. Only 6/7 loungers which fill up quickly with families. Not heated. Always busy with kids so hard to get a few laps in should you wish! Also if your travelling solo you cant swim alone in pool as per signage...take it or leave it! Overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor.Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in room 702 with spouse and teenager. Loved it. Couldn't fault the accommodation. Loved that it gave us a little privacy and was incredibly surprised at how quiet it was. We didn't take up the breakfast or eat at the hotel but we were offered the $18 discount voucher for breakfast - which was nice. Couldn't fault the staff - the service was excellent. We did use the pool which was nice also. It's a bit of a walk to Paihia shops but then it was nice to be away from the hubbub a bit too.

Room Tip: Room 702 was good for privacy and some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Tripadvisor. We are proud of the effort our staff put in to making your stay a memorable one with us. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in Scenic hotel for 2 nights in room 813. I've mentioned the room number as I'm not sure if all rooms have the same facilities and quality or not.
Our room was very clean and equipped with everything you would need in a hotel room.
Bathroom was clean, big enough and well designed (no splash of water, separated spaces,...)
Minibar had a variety of drinks at a reasonable price. Also there was a comprehensive set of different types of Coffee (3 types), Tea (2 types) and drinking chocolate for free.
Room service was good, reception team was perfect, helpful and welcoming.
Parking space was exactly behind our building which made it easy to access the car. (no noise from the parking by the way)
Location was good, not in the middle of city center but very close to all the fun and restaurants. (within 5 to 15 minute walking distance)
If you are staying in this hotel, check out the nearby restaurant "Alfresco" as well.
I loved this hotel in general.

Room Tip: Second floor would be good if you want to sit in the balcony. There's no lift available, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for placing the very kind comments on Tripadvisor. The Scenic Hotel Group is proud of its hotels and comments like your's endorse the effort they put in to staff training and refurbishment of the rooms. You also state it's great location to town and it is only a 5 minute drive to Waitangi as well. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights doing the Bay of Islands regatta. The hotel is used to an invasion of sailors and they looked after us really well. The staff is friendly and helpful. They made me a special packed lunch every day meeting my dietary requirements (for a price, mind you!).
The room was spacious, with very comfortable beds. Nice towels and products in the bathroom.
The location is excellent, you are five a minutes' walk away from the restaurants on the waterfront.

The only negative for me was the overcooked scrambled eggs at breakfast. The buffet breakfast is $24.50 and for that price you expect fresher eggs and bacon, and better quality coffee.
All in all, I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pourquoipas6021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor.It is always a pleasure to help guests with special requests. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing