We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Thais and his staff could not have been more helpful. I was lucky enough to have a birthday here and will always remember it as a very special day. Great tours lovely food. Visit and you'll be hooked.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Doma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for placing your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. The staff work extremely hard to make your visit a memorable on here in the Bay of Islands. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    250
    76
    12
    3
See reviews for
99
338
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

good room. garden outside of the ground floor room, nice to sit outside and have a cup of coffee. However, it was raining on the night and we would have appreciated a room on the first floor. New Zealand should get into the habit of including breakfast in the room rate. The guests then have the opportunity to use hotel facilities, ejoy the scenery and increase business for the hotel. Lack of lighting from car to room

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intuitive_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are working on the outside lighting and take your comments as constructive. Thank you for choosing Scenic Hotel BOI. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

great little stay thank you. All staff so friendly, rooms spotless, great variety of rooms and styles.
Restaurant lacks a little character. Happy hour voucher with every room.
thoroughly recommended for overnight

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place your comments in Tripadvisor. We are proud of the effort the staff put in to make your stay an enjoyable one. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Good accommodation where hotels are limited. The hotel is split across multiple structures probably due to historical ownership.

The best room type is the Superior Deluxe, where I believe its the only room with air con (important in summer!). We experienced 3 different room types due to the daily deals we purchased.

Friendly reception and nice staff.

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe if you want air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your commentson Tripadvisor As you state, we have a range of accomodation packages.With the hotel situated within walking distance from town and a couple of minutes drive from Waitangi it is ideally placed to meet most peoples needs. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Overall have to rate this place highly. Our Family room was in the corner of two blocks so a bit dark as lacked natural light. No outside area to sit aside from the paved area outside the room. However the service was really very good; from checkin to checkout all staff were helpful, courteous and friendly. Facilities including restaurant and pool of a good standard. Short stroll to the action in the Paihia shops and wharf area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say, the hotel is located within walking distance to town and is only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good location - apprx 5/10min walk along the waterfront to Paihia centre. Staff were lovely - not too many Kiwi voices!? Hotel looks welcoming from the outside. Quiet a large premises with various blocks of rooms. Parking first come first serve but overflow carparks nearby onsite. Had a standard room for first 2 nights. Very small and dark. No area to sit and relax outside as standard rooms dont have balcony. Chairs outside front door however if you fancy chatting to the neighbours. Nice high wooden ceiling which i liked! SKY movies on all TV's if you just want to mooch around. Bed was very soft but comfortable! Last night paid for a deluxe room upstairs. Nice and big room! Again dark cream colour walls making it comfy at night but dark during summer days. Would have loved a bath in room! Ordered room service once - very nice. Didnt eat onsite in restaurant. Swimming pool is small with deep end. Only 6/7 loungers which fill up quickly with families. Not heated. Always busy with kids so hard to get a few laps in should you wish! Also if your travelling solo you cant swim alone in pool as per signage...take it or leave it! Overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor.Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in room 702 with spouse and teenager. Loved it. Couldn't fault the accommodation. Loved that it gave us a little privacy and was incredibly surprised at how quiet it was. We didn't take up the breakfast or eat at the hotel but we were offered the $18 discount voucher for breakfast - which was nice. Couldn't fault the staff - the service was excellent. We did use the pool which was nice also. It's a bit of a walk to Paihia shops but then it was nice to be away from the hubbub a bit too.

Room Tip: Room 702 was good for privacy and some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Tripadvisor. We are proud of the effort our staff put in to making your stay a memorable one with us. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing