We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Large comfortable hotel with all usual amenities and friendly accommodating staff. Hotel is located at start of Paihia and 10 mins stroll into town where there are plenty of places to eat. There is a Countdown supermarket and a couple of petrol station close by.
Only gripe is 60 mins free wifi every 24hrs. When B & B's can offer free unlimited wifi why can't the big boys?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear garethannette, Thank you for your comments. As you state the hotel is well situated for a short stroll to town. The Scenic Hotel Group is working through the Wifi issue you mentioned and this should be remendied by the beginning of next season. ind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    257
    79
    12
    4
See reviews for
102
347
29
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The rooms were large, comfortable and spotless. The toiletry products where beautiful. The staff at this hotel were exceptional in their care and helpful in every way. This was be best hotel we stayed in on our trip of the Bay of Islands. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Lynne949, Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed two nights and arrived after dark. The car park was some distance from the unit we occupied and found it difficult to find exactly what direction to go to find the room. Signage was hidden in the bushes, and not well lit. Other than that it was a lovely clean place to stay in a beautiful garden setting. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would go back if ever we are up that way again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I have mentioned your comments to our maintenance team and we will look into your suggestion. The cleaning team pride themselves on the rooms and it is pleasing to see great comments like yours posted on this site. Kind Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gossau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This Hotel is a bit off the centre of the City, which means it's nice and quiet. The city center where you can take boat trips is within walking distance. There is a lovely park all around it which adds to the Relaxing atmosphere. The room was big enough, clean and had a Little terrace outiside. We appreciated the laundromat, which is important when you're constantly travelling for 3 weeks. I'd stay here again. The Food was good in the Restaurant. What we missed was an unlimited free WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest, As you state ,the hotel is only a short stroll from the centre of town and a couple of minutes drive to Waitasngi. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Recently my wife and I spend about 20 days holidaying in New Zealand (both North and South Island). We had stayed in different hotels throughout our journey. But we found the Scenic hotels consistently the best among the hotels that we stayed in. We had stayed in Scenic hotels in Franz Josef, Dunedin and Paihia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments on Tripadvisor about the Scenic Hotel Group. As a company , we spend a lot of time and effort into training staff. When we see comments like yours ,posted on sites like this, we know it is working. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
257 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We did stay there 3 nights and where pleased with the rooms, the cleanliness, the responsive service and the well maintained amenities. The air conditioners are very silent and surrounding garden is pleasant and isolating. The breakfast buffet is decent (missing vegetables as in all Scenic hotels :-)). the one soe point (again same as all Scenic hotels) is the WiFi access. It is advertised as free - but it is only for an hour, and read this as one hour from the start of access.
Access should be unlimited and for several devices (we carry 4) and I guess it should be part of star gradation of a modern hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Tripadvisor.The positive comments you wrote mak e all the effort our staff put into their jobs ,worthwhile. The Scenic Hotel Group is addressing the Wifi situation you mention and will be addressed for the upcoming season. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Recently, I travelled across New Zealand and as part of that holiday, stayed at the Scenic Hotel at Paihia. It was a fantastic experience. The staff was most courteous. The rooms were large and well equipped. We had a great time there. Paihia is a superb holiday destination and this particular hotel, although not located on the sea front itself, is just a few steps away from the sea. At nights, it is unbelievably quiet here. I would certainly go back there if I had the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ameet_Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. The hotel is only a short walk from town and is only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi. The staff work hard at meeting guest expectation and it is pleasing to recieve positive comments like yours. Kind Regards Ros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing