We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two nights away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great hotel. Lovely staff. Our room was very clean and well stocked with all the essentials. We stayed two nights on the weekend and noticed there was a wedding reception being held on the Saturday evening and expected it to be very noisy but we never heard a sound. Location good. A short, flat walk to the centre but, fortunately, the weather was great so this was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us. The large area of the hotel allows us to host weddings etc and not intrude on the experience of other guests staying with us. Located close to town is always a good aspect for guests. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were to stay here for 2 nights. But Cyclone Lucy left us grounded for an extra night. The rooms were fairly ok. Also, the hotel staff would charge you to even get anything to your room. Also, the location is a 5 minute walk from the restaurants and bars. Also, they do not have much option for vegeterian food. But it is a decent place to stay in for a night or 2 with decent beds and a good bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeyaSalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest, Cyclone Lusi put a damper on most people in the Bay of Islands area over the days it past through. We are glad you enjoyed your stay dispite the bad weather. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had our wedding at the Scenic in Paihia and the service and overall experience was fantastic. The team there were incredible, particularly Agnes the event manager who took care of our event. The staff were helpful (and there were plenty of them - they even assigned someone to take special care of my grandfather all night). We had a huge amount of attention, and anything we asked for was done right away. The food was a buffet, and was outstanding, hot, plenty if it, and they set both sides so that service was really fast. We had a group breakfast the next day which was also great! The rooms were a good size for getting ready in, and the reception area is perfect! 3 huge connecting rooms and a dance floor. There is also a garden bar area where the hotel hosted drinks nibbles and entertainment when we were at photos, I've heard this was great too. Overall we had our perfect wedding, and very much thank the hotel for making it so easy and run so smoothly. Thank you scenic BOI

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_Mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Susan,I am glad your day was special and we met all your expectations. Thank your for all the lovely comments and it was a pleasure to host and be apart of your special day. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms are fairly OK. Reception and service are impeccable. We ate one evening in the hotel-restaurant though, it was the worst food we got during our 6 weeks trip through NZL! Seafood-shoulder looked and tasted like oatmeal. Venisson: bone-dry. If this was a real chef cooking: go back to school ! My neighbour's dog wouldn't eat this...

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers from Belgium.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. Your comment that the staff were impeccable is appreciated. I have spoken to the Chef in regards to the food and addressing this. Kind Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our room was lovely, especially the bathroom and shower. Staff were friendly. Little touches like free newspapers and weather forecasts made us feel welcome. Bar, food etc very good. The walk into town was a pleasant stroll.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzLovers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Jazzlovers73, Thank you for posting your comments. It is great that you enjoyed the Bar and food so much. As you state it is a short stroll to town and only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location - just round the corner from the centre of Paihia and 5mins walk from the ferry port. We stayed here for 2 nights and we were lucky enough to get a complimentary room upgrade! Our room had 2 double beds, a big bathroom with walk in shower, a balcony with seating outside and plenty of wardrobe and floor space too. The mini bar was very well equipped with a range of snacks and drinks - not too pricey either. There was plenty of tea and coffee available and the rooms were service to a high standard daily, with an abundance of towels and toiletries. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful - they called a tour booking to confirm arrangements on our behalf. The hotel was reasonable priced, even without our complimentary upgrade. We were also given happy hour vouchers for the bar (you choose your happy hour!) and discount breakfast vouchers too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Honest Review86, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and value your honest comment. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This place surely will always have a special place in my heart!Everything about this place was just nice.Location,people,service,privacy,rooms,access to the beach etc. It's a short walk away from the point from where ferries leave for Russel.Also,The Hole in the rock cruise leaves from there.
There are eateries and a market just a few meters away from this hotel.We didnt face any problems with the service here.The rooms are quite spacious as well.

Overall a highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMillionTravelTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear 200Travel Tales. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay and that this place will always have a special place in your heart. The staff work extremely hard on guest satisfaction and it is always pleasing to recieve comments like yours.Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £94 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing