We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
270
283
85
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
283
85
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomloved this hotelbuffet breakfastmotel styletour groupceiling fanshort walknew zealandhotel restaurantgood sizeguest laundrycentre of townlovely roomair conditioningswimming poollarge bathroomcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our family of four (kids of 4 and 6) stayed at the Scenic for 3 nights over Easter. We found the two level suites great. The kids could sleep in the loft bedroom while we could still enjoy a drink on the balcony or eat later downstairs without disturbing them. Town was a short walk away and there was lots of beach activities directly down from the hotel, a 3 min walk away. We hired bikes and kayaks. The pool was lovely (albeit freezing) and the kids swam each day. We ordered room service a couple of times which was very nice and hot.
Would have been nice to have a microwave and a toaster but I guess since they have an onsite restaurant this is not provided. I would recommend this accommodation to others and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 733 which was on the second floor but had a big grassy area in front for the kids. Might pay to ask for a ground floor room if you have kids.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FinneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in the Bay of Islands. Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in Room 913, a large, quiet, clean, comfortable room with 2 double beds, 3 bedside tables, desk & chair, 2 chairs & ottoman, balcony facing a lush garden, well-designed small bath with a large shower stall (I know that sounds strange but that's why I think it's well designed!), great assortment of NZ-made toiletries, well-stocked minibar, and tea/coffee set-up that included a French press.

Very friendly, efficient service from all the hotel staff. Coin-operated laundry available for use by hotel guests. Located a short walk to town, the beach and the ferry to Russell.

For dinner in the hotel buffet I can recommend the good selection of salads, the light & crispy fried hoki, the leg of lamb, chicharrones, and any dessert as long as it's topped with that wonderful NZ fresh whipped cream.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to put your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome your return. Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked a room on-line but couldn't remember what room we had the last time we were there. When we saw the room it was nice but not what we wanted. The Manager quickly did some changes and offered us an upgrade at no extra cost. He was very professional and polite about everything. We would definetly recommend this place to our friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and we hope to host you again in the near future. Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms were clean and roomy. However they had no deadbolt lock nor a chain lock on door. My only disappointment is it appeared from pictures that you could see the water, which was only true if you stood in front of the office and looked down the road 2 blocks. Also the landscaping in the middle of our 3 buildings looked like a jungle. The rest of the landscaping was kept up but this was terrible. Was not interested in sitting on patio overlooking this mess. Also need some practice on making a decent breakfast! However, we did have a terrific last night dinner, so someone is capable of cooking. Was on tour with a group.

Room Tip: I had a 2nd floor room, which was quiet except when people walked by. Not much foot traffic through.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, Your comments about the trees being a mess are correct. You arrived at the hotel two days after Cyclone Ita had passed through and we had two large flame trees flattened by the high winds. It took a week before the Arborist could make it to the hotel to clean up the mess. It has alll been rectified and is now looking pleasant. Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Staff were so unbelievably helpful, we were there with another family of 5 and they were understanding of the kids, ensured we had everything we needed and were happy.

The only downfall was the "Superior Room". The room was clean and lovely, however when they said we would be sharing a room (the family of 5) we were somewhat dubious. I asked if there would be room for the kids to play and they said it wouldn't be an issue. It was a little small - everyone sleeping in the same room didn't bode well for everyone sleeping well! I would only go back with the kids if I could get the Family Apartment.

Other than that, fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We understand what travelling with kids is like and try and make things as easy as possible. Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews