We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

We were very happy with our stay here.

We stayed in a "Deluxe" room which are in four blocks at the end of the site, each has a patio or balcony looking over a garden area.

The room was modern with new fixtures and fittings and decent air-con. Half of the deluxe rooms are on the first floor though with no lift that I could see so watch out if stairs are a problem for you.

We had breakfast once in the hotel and that was a good standard. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant once and that was done very well.

Service was cheerful and helpful. The only negative was that we stayed Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday night and the mini-bar was not restocked once in that time.

  • Liked — Good rooms, good food, good service!
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    250
    76
    12
    3
See reviews for
99
338
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

The rooms in our block (there are several blocks of rooms around the property) were on two stories with a wooden walkway along the top. Our room on the ground floor was beneath a set of stairs so 1) we couldn't park directly outside the room, 2) the noise from people walking up and down the stairs could be a little disturbing at night. The room itself was quite large although it felt a little dated in terms of decor, and dark awy from the bedroom. The patio doors led from the bedroom to a small patio area that then opened onto a larger quiet grassy area between the accommodation blocks. The patio areas are shared between your neigbouring rooms so don't expect much privacy on the patio. We were also plagued at times by a very noisy fridge.

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to the beach and 10-15 to the main centre, which suits if you want to be away from the tourist throngs.

Was a bit disappointed the room was not available for check in about 4pm after a long drive from Auckland (the booking said 2 pm) which probably makes me take a more negative view of the hotel than it maybe deserved. Although I was disappointed by our particular room, I would imagine that a more up to date room, away from the stairs and without a noisy fridge would actually make this hotel quite a decent place to stay.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank sqwawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights, It was pretty nice and good value for your money. The room was big, the bathroom was a bit cold (no heating?) and could be a bit bigger and newer, but overall there was nothing wrong with it. We could park our car in from of the room which was great. The hotel was well located. It was a bit empty, beside us, there were 2 or 3 other rooms occupied only, but well it was the middle of the winter over there. The breakfast wasn't that great but well. It was ok in general.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle, uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We were on a guided tour of NZ, so you're pretty much stuck with what you're given, but this hotel was a cut above the rest - as we found the Scenic Circle places tended to be. Very spacious, and we liked the openness of the motel style rooms, with room to sit outside. Decent pool - unheated though, so just as well the day we chose to use it was a hot one. Better breakfasts than most, with a good yoghurt/muesli concoction that nowhere else bothered to offer. Good, friendly service. One night the heavy rain forced us to endure the evening carvery - this wasn't so good, as the restaurant room lacks any atmosphere, and the food was over-priced. Food is pretty good in Paihia generally - the popular Swiss Cafe was good, as was the cafe on the corner owned by (it seemed) a German/Indian couple. Hotel only a short walk (5 mins) from the seafront.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank gorodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. Although slightly away from the sea front, it was within easy walking distance and had the advantage of being quiet. Our room was large with 2 king size beds and was well equiped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

There was internet access, guest laundry, small pool and our room had a terrace.

The breakfasts were great, the best we had in NZ for that type of hotel. Only downside is that there were lots of comings and goings with coach tours.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — Coach tours
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JAM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2007

We stayed 3 nights in Paihia and were really pleased with our choice of hotel. We had upgraded to a deluxe room and although it was one of the more expensive hotels on our trip it was well worth it when compared to others (approx £90 a night). The room was very big with 2 king size beds and plenty of space to sit and relax. There was also a nice sun terrace. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower. Although it is set back from the beach and therefore doesn't have the views it is quiet and peaceful.

One tip make sure you go to the Thai restaurant on the beachfront, the food is fantastic!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CheltenhamBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

I wasnt sure what to expect from a hotel in what seemed such a small place full of motels, but this hotel was nice. It had recently been re-done with two new blocks added and it showed. The rooms were large and spacious all with a little balcony or patio area and full air conditioning. I really enjoyed my stay here, the pool was also lovely and the food at the resturant excellent. I highly recommed this as a place to stay in the Bay of Islands, it might not have the view but it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travelforfunReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing