We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views as advertised, but service makes all of the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I chose an the Blue Pacific for an off-season getaway on the North Island sandwiched in between two of my business trips -- it was a perfect choice. You've read about and seen beautiful bay views in other reviews, which are exactly as advertised, but I'd like to relay a story that speaks a little about the value of service.

Being between business trips totaling 6 weeks away from home, I found it important to select a getaway spot that in addition to a peaceful surrounding offers a few functional advantages, such as a kitchen, laundry and good Internet access to keep in touch with my business.

The kitchen in our room at the Blue Pacific was small, but appropriately outfitted for light cooking, but we had a small problem with the other two elements: the laundry and Internet service in our room. There is one small misnomer on the property's website that states all rooms are equipped with clothes washer and dryer. In reality, all rooms are equipped with a washer and all but one with a dryer, unfortunately the 1 br corner unit we had booked. The need for a quick turnaround to launder all of my clothes with no dryer compounded by a wet an rainy season presented a little trouble for me, as did Internet service that was not functioning in some of the apartments furtherest away from the rental office (for technical reasons that are not necessary to explain here).

When relaying our concerns to the owner, he moved us to another room with both a dryer and working Internet connection -one larger than we had booked- without so much as raising an eyebrow. With my laundry done and email checked, I was able to enjoy my break before continuing on. It was perfect.

Things rarely go as planned, and rarer still on an island in the Pacific (my wife and I live on a different one, we know), but most important is how you deal with adversity. At the Blue Pacific, problems are dealt with effortlessly -- that's what counts.

Room Tip: Sign up for a Boingo wireless Internet access plan for unlimited wireless service from the local pro...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your comments.
I hope we allowed you the relaxation and break you required.
The Internet issue will be resolved shortly with the supplier having taken on board the guests requirements and our free Wifi offer to all Apartments.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just recently spent four nights here on our way around the North Island, great views, nice spa bath, only issue that it could do with a bit more sound proofing, and more privacy required when you are on the patio as your neighbours can look right in! We did book a two bedroom apartment but it seemed more like a one bedroom with an extra small room with just a single bed. Luckily it was only the two of us staying here. Overall had a great stay, thanks very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

We appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Blue Pacific Apartments for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day as part of our honeymoon trip. The apartments were lovely - they had everything we could have needed, a small kitchen area - which was handy on christmas day as we cooked and eat on the balcony - (we could have used the bbq that was also available on our balcony but cheated!) We were very thoughtfully left a little christmas goodie box with some chocolates and a christmas pudding! There were DVD's and books if we wanted to borrow, even towels for the beach. We opted for a room with an outside jacuzzi which was great as the room had stunning views overlooking the beach and sec.

The apartments are very close to the beach - overlooking - and a short 10 minute walk to the nearby town (with a large supermarket even closer). The staff were very freindly and helpful, a lovely place to stay and we loved the area, beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielT114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We sincerely wish you the best and hope the honey moon experience with us will be remember for a long time. Yes Christmas is a special time for us all when away on a holiday. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed three nights here and loved it. The unit had a great kitchen and everything we needed for our stay. The view over the Bay of Islands was terrific and we spent a lot of time on the balconey. The rooms were serviced and one day we went out before our load of washing was finished and came back to find it hung out for us which was much appreciated. The unit was within walking distance of good restaurants and the town and harbour. Would recommend highly!

Room Tip: A unit on the top floor would be my pick as that's what we had. I am not sure if all the units h...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thankyou so much for your appresiative comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in apartment 7 and really it is very hard to fault.  Views from the room are stunning - dual aspect - with a great little balcony area.  It is a 10 minute lovely stroll along the seafront to town.  Or a 30 second walk to the beach.
Kitchen was fantastically equipped - very good quality too - as was the general level of furnishings.  Lovely powerful shower and good bathroom.  A really picky point would be that the bedroom is smallish with little drawer/shelf space.
An added bonus for us was free unlimited wifi - what a joy in NZ !! Hooray!
Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. Yes this Apartment has amazing views all round the Bay, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

These apartments go beyond clean. They are so comfortable, so luxurious and amazingly positioned. The owner Doug, he is a sweetheart. He will do whatever you want him to do. Book activities, change things, but otherwise he floats in the background, giving you total control of your break.

I love this place. I love Doug and his team, you will get no "selling" from him or his team this small beachside resort.

It was heaven and I love the blue Pacific - we will be back....now back in to the spa, overlooking the beach with my comfy, luxury bath robe - thanks Doug!

Room Tip: Just come here and ask for what you expect - expectations will be surpassed
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

It was a pleasure to host your family.
We are delighted as a team that you thoughly enjoyed your break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Loved the location. Views to die for. Everything you need in the apartment. Would stay there next time that's for sure. Best we have stayed in in new Zealand

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraJaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Than you so much for your comments.
Yes we do have fantastic views from all our Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia

Address: 166 Marsden Road | PO Box 351, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: £123 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 10 Apartments offer spectacular and unrivalled vistas of the Bay of Islands including The Waitangi Treaty Grounds and historic Russell as guests relax and restore in comfort and style.Our exquisite waterfront location overlooks Paihias most popular swimming beach and out to the Pacific ocean, and is a leisurely 12 minute stroll to the centre of Paihia for shopping, cafes, restaurants, and the wharf area for Tours and Cruises.Each of our 1,2, or 3 bedroom Apartments offers a fully equipped luxury Italian styled kitchen and bathroom(s), own laundry (washer and dryer). Flat screen TV's, Sky TV,free Wifi and Broadband. Each has a private balcony with uninterrupted views, and is equipped with a BBQ and outdoor furniture. Four apartments include jacuzzi's outdoor on the balcony with 1 inside and two include spa baths inside their second bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia Hotel Paihia
Blue Pacific Apartments Hotel Paihia
Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing